How to go Vegan without dying

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I became vegan a month ago with no idea what I was doing. I thought I just had to eat falafel and water and it would all be ok.

Turns out that because the world is entirely designed around meat-eaters, it's not enough to just decide to be vegan, wave the magic wand of change, and not pay any attention to the biological minutiae of the human body.

Back when I was jamming animal remnants down my pipes, apparently I was getting all kinds of vitamins and minerals as a side-effect of my homicides-by-proxy. Now that I'm vegan, there seems to be a general agreement that I need to supplement with certain vitamins to stay alive.

At first, I thought: "This is bullshit. I don't want to become a bio-medicinal chemist just to live. Give me my meat back!". But, after some more thought, I realised that the industry that previously provided me with meat was flagrantly awash in all kinds of chemical perversions –– hormones; antibiotics etc. So, all I am doing now is placing the burden of responsibility on myself to understand and maintain my own biochemistry, rather than outsourcing this problem to a cattle farmer, drenched in blood, who probably can't sleep at night for all the cow-eyes that stare hauntingly at him from his abyssal subconscious trough.

Anyway, back to my body: I seemed to be getting weaker and weaker over the last week. This peaked during a rock climbing sessions in which my arms seemed to give up climbing and want to be laid down on a mattress and soothed.

I asked a good friend of mine who is dabbling in veganism what might be wrong; why did I feel like I was dying?

He told me that I needed to eat the EU (European Union) recommended Nutrient Reference Intake (NRV) of:

Vitamin B2 (1.6mg - 114%)
Vitamin B6 (2mg - 143%)
Vitamin B12 (25µg - 1,000%)
Vitamin D3 (20µg - 400%)
Folic Acid (200µg - 100%)
Iodine (150µg - 100%)
Selenium (60µg - 109%)

So, I've been doing that and now I don't feel like I'm dying anymore. In fact I feel fantastic.

While I was at the vegan shop, I also picked up some other things as experimental objects to aid my conversion into the vegan fold. The first was this:

It was kind of expensive, but I'm going to investigate other options online. I just wanted to give it a try first. Basically, this Vegan Protein appears to be a plant-based alternative to meat-based protein sources and can supplement the protein I get from chickpeas etc. I'll let you know how I get on with this powder in a future post. I'm completely naive about what I'm doing here, so if you're vegan and you have any tips, let me know.

I also got this:

It's a milk alternative. But unlike traditional milk it doesn't contain hormones and pus. These are significant bonuses for me. Interestingly, I read that America consumes the most milk in the world, but also has the highest rates of osteoporosis. This suggests that the dairy industry's claims of calcium being prevalent, or absorbable, from milk is a fraud. In fact, some researchers say that osteoporosis is actually caused by traditional milk1

I'll give this Oatly stuff a go and let you know if my bones snap, or if I stay in one piece.

I also got some of this because I generally like eating things that are marketed by Rapunzel:

I'll try it after writing this post and report back on how it is. Apparently it is organic and the bag is massive, so it should last me a few weeks.

Next time I'll write about grocery shopping. I know I have to buy lots of fruit and vegetables, but I'm not sure what exactly. There is a grocery store near me that sells everything without packaging. So, I'll go there with a load of jam jars and stock up for the week.

So far this vegan thing is interesting. I feel less drenched in horror and blood, but I'm also a bit confused about how this new lifestyle works exactly. I'm enjoying the process of learning though.

Footnotes

1http://www.slate.com/articles/briefing/articles/1999/08/got_osteoporosis.html

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading this thanks!

I have been through all different stages meat, fowl and fish only, fish only, vegetarian and vegan. I do care about animals and wish to minimise their suffering. But I also care about if I feel healthy. Supplements didn't do the trick for me. Nowadays back to fish and eggs at least once a week and feeling much better. If we'd all seriously limit our meat/fowl/fish consumption we'd already be making a big advance towards reducing animal suffering. BTW plants are living too. There is no way to avoid some kind of suffering. So we have to make a compromise. Existence is a strange thing. Continue exploring what feels good for you, but don't start to suffer because you wish to reduce suffering :)

when you cut a plant or a part of a plant it usually naturally heals and even grows more stronger!
that actually a technique used by experts in fruit trees!
if you cut a peace of meat from a living animal like it becomes wounded and may day! from infection or blood loss.. unthinkable insane isn't it!
so isn't the same at all!

eat some shiitake mushrooms too it will help a lot!

A Vegan diet doesn't kill less things, it kills more things.
Instead of letting something grow to become more nourishing, you eat it while it is still in the womb.
And, you are not saving a cow by turning vegan, you are stopping a cow from being born. Just like horses today. The car came, and now horses are a luxury item for those who have the space to raise them. Cows will not become the same, they will simply not be grown at all, if everyone turned vegan.

Being born as a cow is a great life. (barring factory farms-those need to be done away with by supporting local growers.) As a cow you have very few predators and you have humans to protect you and take you to places with food. And when you have lived all of the good part of life, you get to be consumed by humans. The karmic value is great.


But this wasn't a post about veganism, this was a post about how to get your nutrients while eating a diet that is lacking in body sustaining nutrients.

First, you do not seem to know about your two energy systems. The anabolic and the aerobic. One burns fats, the other burns sugars. You need to have the correct amounts of each for your lifestyle.

Second, you need to know how much protiens you need to fix the muscles you are breaking. You mentioned rock climbing. That is heavy duty on your muscles. The typical adult needs 8 oz of meat a week to maintain their muscles. You need to find a replacement for this.

On milk, it isn't that the milk industry is incorrect about the benefits of calcium, it is what the milk industry does to milk. Pasteurizing kills milk. It is the reason why people are lactose intolerant. (People drinking raw milk have seen healings of lactose intolerance.) And homogenizing is worse. It locks away all the nutrients in little bubbles that your body can't get to.
I suggest finding someone who sells raw goat milk. (usually sold for animal purposes only)

Basically, you need beans and rice. You need to learn how to properly prepare beans to get the protiens out of them. And find a good form of brown rice that works well for you. These two are where most of your protiens for living will come from.

Then you have to find a good multi-mineral supplement.

Be well.

  • pasteurized homogenized milk really should be prohibited, since the fat that surge on top during pasteurization shouldn't be added back in homogenise... since it will never mix again and your body can't process it!
  • so it get's accumulated in your blood vessels and guts blocking the whole blood circulation!
    .may cause serious problems!
  • and you can see it floating in your toilet just not going down!
  • resembles Hydrogenated fat (in cookies) also to be prohibited! since fat with injected hydrogen is also not natural and isn't processed right!

Thanks @builderofcastles.

I'll investigate the beans and rice angle.

tell me do you feel like eating more sugar or chocolates?

look for coconut oil or milk or palm (very used in chocolates) one of blood substitutes and also
is the best source of super healthy medium triglycerides and cytokines!
and natural pure energy for all your body systems

other super blood substitute is simply sea water super abundant in everything you need!
https://steemit.com/coconut/@eliowilson/coconut-oil-or-milk

https://steemit.com/cytokine/@eliowilson/cytokine-sugar-ph-sleep-and-communication-reaction-wei-ki

Thanks for the interesting info @eliowilson

:)

Technically vegans don't really die. They just go dry.

Oats are very healthy, I have them every morning.
Good protein, energy, nutrients...
I mix rolled oats with vegan milk; chop a banana into it, add some raisins, etc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85