REVIEW: Vegan Restaurant GREEN AVENUE - My New Favorite Place in Town

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG-2893.JPG

After I came back from my Barcelona trip, I felt a bit grey and unhappy to get back to daily routine and work. One thing in particular made me think... I realised food culture is a bit week in my hometown, and although there are really great and high-class restaurants, people mostly eat quite unhealthy stuff. For example, most (of us) start their mornings with bakery products, full of gluten and carbs and continue to eat something similar during the day. On a lunch date with my friend @flamingirl who is intolerant to gluten and also a vegetarian, she told me about app Happy Cow which helps you find vegan and vegetarian restaurants near you. So, I gave it a shot and - BAM- first and a bingo!

IMG-2228.JPG

Green Avenue (iliti, po naški, Zelena avenija) is a small daily restaurant located in a building od Contemporary Art Museum with a great vegan menu and super daily healthy and freshly prepared meals. Bartenders are super-nice, the place is quiet (big plus) and cozy and the food is delicious. Interior is minimalistic letting you put all your focus on food and makes you feel relaxed and like at home. Plus, plus and a plus. That sounds perfect to me on days I don't have to cook! :)

msu.jpg

IMG source

IMG-2890.JPG

So, I'm planning on writing this review for a days now... But I keep going and going there on my free afternoons, so this is short photo-summary of my 5 days lunch at Green Avenue restaurant. Let me show you what I ate (and can't wait to try some more of their specialties)...

IMG-2224.JPG

Day 1

IMG-2892.JPG

Potato and sweet potato strudel & whole-wheat couscous with peas & vegetable yogurt dressing & salad with cabbage, kohlrabi and beets

Day 2

IMG-2863.JPG

IMG-2861.JPG

Arborio rice with Swiss chard and leek & bean fritters & BBQ sauce & salad with radicchio, arugula and carrots

Day 3

unnamed.jpg

Stew with chickpeas, pumpkin and leek & buckwheat bread roll

Day 4

IMG-2614.JPG

Stew with chickpeas, pumpkin and leek & buckwheat bread roll

Day 5

IMG-2229.JPG

Basmati rice & curry with lentils, pumpkin and tomatoes & lettuce and radicchio with lemon

Summa summarum

I will definitely come back for a Day 6, Day 7, Day 8...etc. (so expect a sequel soon;). I love their daily menus, and I'm not missing a chance to eat healthy, fresh, handmade food, cooked and prepared with fresh ingredients and a pinch of love.

In this last photo, I'm having a purple smoothie - made with soy milk, bananas and blueberries.

Anyhow, THE best thing I had at this place was a dessert called Pleasure Cup made with black and dark pudding from soy milk, roasted coconut, agava syrup and some cocoa butter... It was just sooo delicious I didn't even took a photo of it 'cause I just lost myself :D Thing I like about this place too is that chefs improvise a lot and are very creative at daily offers, always waiting for their guest with new, mouthwatering dishes and desserts from heaven. I am a bit proud that Zagreb has a place like this - unpretentious, affordable and yet healthy and great for a quick lunch and a daily break!

Btw, the staff here is very polite, discreet and always willing to give you an advice about the menu and help you decide - if you are intolerant to some ingredients, they will make you a custom-made meal.

And the prices? Really value for money, even more. You can have a daily menu for 4- 6 Euros which is REALLY affordable!

Definitely deserved my warmest recommendation according to all criteria! <3

Find them on address: Avenija Dubrovnik 17, Zagreb, Croatia

IMG-2233.JPG

IMG-2899.JPG

All photos and content is mine. You enjoyed reading? Please upvote and resteem!

Eat healthy, feel better

xoxo,

M.

IMG-2853.JPG

Sort:  

Very good job my dear friend !!!

Everything looks so good, I have to come to Croatia and try this food !!!
Thank you very much for your "dedication" ^^
Keep it that way and stay connected XD

@flamingirl with love...

Cherie, thank you 🙏🏻 Both you and R. had a big influence on changing my eating habits last couple of weeks :) Happy for that! 🎈❤️

CC53DC7A-C86C-4DF6-92D5-092A987275DC.jpeg

besos and hugs from Zagreb, gonna take you to all this cool vegan places when you come for a visit! 💌

Pa super, sad sam se nagledala na tvom tanjiru i sad moram da jedem :( A znas li koliko je sati :)))

Samo jedi, ja zapalila! :D izdrzala sam skoro tri dana na onom elektricnom sranju :D Nema veze, uskoro cu na popravni :*

Hahaha, bas smo karakteri :) Samo ti pusi, sacu i ja samo da napadnem frizider

Awesome post, I love vegetarian food, it is a pleasure to learn that we have a healthy choice of vegetarian food restaurants in Zagreb. I wish the rest of the country will follow. Yummy :)

Thank you so much @telasius! I started to love vegetarian a lot lately! Zagreb still has a lot of potential to grow, hope this is just a beginning, there should be many, many more places like this! :) p.s. Are you from Zg, too? 😉

the foods look great .....nice post maybe one day i cook my own vegan food ...my favorite of yous post was day this soup look tasty

Day 3 was also my favorite! I’m not vegetarian, but I love to experiment and explore :) Ty!

This post has received a 2.10 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @matejka13.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.58
ETH 2760.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65