Plain, Simple and Perfect Friday Summer Lunch - Anchovies and Mangle

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_5305.JPG

I woke up a bit earlier today. But unlike the regular days, this "early" felt good. It wasn't provoked by the irritating sound of an alarm on my IP, but the gentle "ga-ga-ga" seagulls song that I translated as "Good morning! Another beautiful day is waiting outside".

Coffee first, but then short drive to the local market. Let's see... What do we have here? I couldn't say no to watermelon and some apricots but I needed something more concrete for today's lunch.

I played it safe this time. Bought 0.5 kg anchovies and similar amount of mangle (or mangel). We call it "srdelice i blitva" here, as my Croatian friends will know. After all, it is my favorite summer friday lunch - easy to prepare, healthy and tasteful. Mmm!

My mood instantly went up but so did the temperature. It was time for a beach break before cooking... 🌊

IMG_5287.JPG

As you already (don't) know, I have a little helper - my 10 yo son, Jan, who was preparing fish for frying. This is what I call cooking with a view. ;)

IMG_5286.JPG

IMG_5292.JPG

Came from the sea and now back to the sea as a food for our friends seagulls. Jan used a little time off to wash away dirtiness and relax a little. When on vacation, it's all about relaxing, right?

IMG_5329.JPG

Halftime.

IMG_5315.JPG

I fried anchovies in deep oil (put some flour on them first) and cooked the mangle in salty water with two potatoes.

Lunchtime, everyone! I spiced the mangle with olive oil (homemade), salt, pepper and -very important- fresh garlic. Anchovies were a bit salted and lemon juice as dressing was optional.

IMG_5295.JPG

IMG_5296.JPG

Nobody complained. It was fast but tasty and healthy. And as a reward before nap-time (beauty sleep is alsoone of the vacation goals:D) I watered my throat with "bevanda" - traditional mix of red wine and water. After all, I am an oldschooler.

IMG_5305.JPG

What did you have for lunch today?

Sort:  

Nema ribe do prasice!

True, ali razlicitost veseli :)

A ja jedem gotovu hranu iz Interšpara :)

Pa dodji sim na rucak, skuvat ce ti so-so-so-sogorica! 😂😘

Šogi samo ti prijeti, dovest ću ti cijelu Steemit Croatia ekipu ;)

Kaj cekamo? Zurku da slozim :)

Izgleda da smo imale sličan ručak danas! :)
Izgleda odlično @matejka13!

Obozavam! Nema bolje za vruce ljetne dane :)

Nema bome! :)

Tasty and rich in Iodine, the most important mineral for our wellbeing! Thank you for your contributionism...

Thank you for reading and following. Trying to keep it simple, at least when on vacation...:)

Yummmm looks delicious, I love fish prepared this way, so rich in omega-3, phosphorus and protein. That is about the age that I started cleaning my own fish and cooking. Beautiful pictures, upvoted :)

Merci beacup. :) Always happy when having something healthy, like today! And blessed with a little helper, wouldn't be the same without.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74