I'm Stress Eating Carbs

in #food6 years ago

OMG! I love carbs so much when I'm stressed out. Bread! Pastries! Scones! Bowls made out of bread filled with delicious soup. I have never eaten at a Panera in my life. We've had one fifteen minutes away for around ten years but I've never eaten there. No one I know ever eats at Panera so it's not a place I've ever thought of even trying....until today.

I love bread and pastries. I've always wished there were a fast food pastry shop around. At Panera you can order online and pick up your order with very little interaction with the staff. It's the perfect restaurant for someone like me who has social anxiety and hates going in restaurants.

Today I was really up for some comfort food: soup and something chocolate. I had heard Panera had good broccoli cheese soup and I figured I'd give it a try. That's when I discovered online ordering and all the delicious carbs.

I got broccoli cheese soup in a bread bowl!

IMG_7410.JPG

And a chocolate pastry

IMG_7412.JPG

And a blueberry scone

IMG_7415.JPG

And a brownie

IMG_7417.JPG

And a croissant

IMG_7416.JPG

Yeah....I was a little excited. I've had a horrible week and I was looking for some things to snack on while I work on my dissertation. I also figured I'd try a wide variety of foods in case the soup sucked and I never went there again. The soup was really great but I didn't enjoy the bread bowl. I'd rather just soup. It was kind of like fondue. My toddler loved it though. I'd dip a piece of bread in the soup and give her bites. She ate a lot of "fondue."

The bakery items were really great though. Everything was fresh and soft. I had my soup and part of a pastry. I took a taste of the other items but saved them for later or tomorrow. I'm excited to have my scone for breakfast tomorrow.

I haven't mentioned in other posts but I'm back to working on my dissertation again. My stress levels are maxed out. This week has been extremely hard. When all this mess is written and done I'm going on a diet. Still have all that baby weight to lose. Until then lots of pastries. Lots and lots of pastries....

Sort:  

Carbs are the second best stress reliever right after beer.

You have to be careful with both of them though.

Sadly that it true. I'd say I'm a carboholic right now due to stress. I'm gonna need to do some fasting to detox and start a diet...eventually. I invested in a very large box of chocolate I need to finish first (guess I'm not ready to admit I have a problem). ;P

It is a really great combination.

I had problems with those healers of my madness ;)

Till I stopped buying or making them in regular way.
What I would like to say I avoid yeast and gluten.

Greetings my dear :) Good luck

I love yeast and gluten so much! lol. I'd find it impossible to avoid them for too long. I use to do fasts and moderation diets back pre-baby when I was in shape and thin. I enjoyed those ways of eating. Hardest part is getting to a mindset to be dedicated to healthier eating. I'm not quiet there yet but I'm close.

I'm not the only Panera addict! Actually, they used to have these wedge-shaped brownies with cream cheese on top that were amazing. They also had cream cheese danishes (not the "cheese pastry" of today) that were impossible to pass up...

Sorry to hear you've had a bad week. That seems to be going around :-P

I'd offer you an oatmeal-coconut butterscotch cookie, if it were within driving distance!

I think they were out of danishes when I went. I need to try them sometime. The brownies with chocolate icing on top were pretty good. I've never had an oatmeal-coconut butterscotch cookie before. Sounds delicious.

Appering to be tasty, how to prepare that?

I got them at a restaurant.

Oh I can add noodles and rice to my carb list!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78