Smoked Pork Roast, Texas Style

in #food7 years ago

We are getting ready for our New Years eve party in East Texas, it is a chilly overcast day, but it won't dampen the festivities. I have 2 pork butts that I will be smoking for the party. I start with a home-made dry rub and apply in excess by hand all over the roast. This size roast takes about 6 hours to smoke.

My dry rub is a traditional Texas rub with a spicy pepper taste.

I use: Salt, Black Pepper, Paprika, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, dry mustard and ground thyme. I don't use any brown sugar. Many people prefer a sweet pork taste, but my partygoers prefer a spicy blend.

smoke2.jpg

This picture is the prepped roast with rub.

I use a traditional "stick burner" smoker. It has an offset box to build a fire. I start the fire with a bed of charcoal brickets. Gradually I add pieces of East Texas Swamp Oak and Hickory. It takes about 30 to 45 minutes to build up a good build-up of coals. I generally look for a temperature of about 270 degrees.

smoke1.jpg

After I have a good fire and Temperature, I put the roast in the middle of the rack. I like to start the roast with about a 2 hour session. Make sure to keep an even fire about 270 degrees. The first 2 hours gives the meat a good smoke ring and bark. As you can see, the dry rub will soak right into the meat to give it great flavor.

smoke3.jpg

After you get a good bark, I like to wrap the roast in foil for two reasons. First, you will get more flavor and spice when it cooks in its own juices. Second, it won't dry the pork out. I cook the roast about another 4 hours. I check the fire about every 20-30 minutes, adding wood as necessary.

smoke4.jpg

The finished product is mouth watering. Enjoy with Woodford Reserve and Champagne!!!!

Hope everyone enjoys the new year. 2017 was a great year. Lets keep it going in 2018.

Sort:  

Oh man that looks delicous, wish I could taste it .

Since I've moved to the Philippines, I miss eating Texas BBQ. I had some last September/October, so that's going to have to hold me for a year, maybe two. At least my wife can cook good Tex-Mex so I don't have to miss out on that while I am here.

I feel for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42