RECIPE: Chill Chili (aka super simple vegan chili)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

TACO (AND OTHER LESS IMPORTANT FOODS) TUESDAY!

On Tuesdays, I will post a recipe or something else related to (vegan) food.


chill-chili-005.jpg

Chili means different things to different people. It even means different things to me depending on how I am feeling at the time. Sometimes, I go all out and use fresh everything. Other times, I'm busy, and I just want to have delicious chili without having to put in a lot of effort.

Presenting:

CHILL CHILI

Ingredients


  • ¼ cup chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons guajillo chile powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon onion flakes
  • 1½ teaspoons celery salt
  • 1 can chili red beans
  • 1 can chili black beans
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 can rotel
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 1 12-16 oz package vegan ground beef substitute (I used Gardein beefless ground)

Stovetop Directions:

  1. Add all of the ingredients (except for the vegan ground beef substitute) to a large pot and stir well. Continue to cook over medium-high heat until it comes to a low boil.

  2. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for as long as you want. A half hour? Sure! An hour? Sure! Longer? If you really want, I suppose!

  3. Add the vegan ground beef substitute in the last 15 minutes.


Slow Cooker Directions:

  1. Add all of the ingredients (except for the vegan ground beef substitute) to a large slow cooker and stir well.

  2. Cook on low for 6-7 hours.

  3. Add the vegan ground beef substitute and cook for 1 more hour.


chill-chili-011.jpg

Serving

Serve it plain, with noodles, with cheese, sour cream, corn chips, hot sauce, weed... anything. I served my chili over elbow noodles, because that's how we roll in my neck of the woods. I added a little vegan cheese, hot sauce, and corn chips as well.

Thank you for reading! If you liked this post, would you please consider giving it an upvote or sharing it with your followers? I would truly appreciate it. Thanks!


What can SteemEngine do for you?

  • Earn votes by voting for others!
  • Earn followers by following others!
  • Referral system. Earn more SBD for your referrals votes.
  • Less spam, better content through report system.
  • SteemEngine users receives 5x more votes than the average Steem user.

TRY FOR YOURSELF

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @marksheppard for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Yes please!

making that this week for sure

I didn't get a good photo, but some time around 1 am, with the leftovers, I made some super-high food to satisfy munchies. I took the corn chips and ground them up, added a little margarine to it, made mac & cheese chili balls, coated that in the ground up corn chips, and cooked it in my air fryer. I'm going to do it again some time and plan it out so I can post the recipe. It's pretty awesome.

This post has received a 100 % upvote, thanks to: @marksheppard

Good cooking well done

You got a 5.91% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @marksheppard!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 33.01% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @marksheppard!

You got a 21.24% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @marksheppard!

You got a 3.83% upvote from @inciter courtesy of @marksheppard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45