Being Vegetarian - My Life As A Vegeterian Living With Carnivores

in #food7 years ago

It is really interesting when people act like we follow some universal rulebook that dictates what we are “allowed” to eat and what we aren’t. If you are one of those “empathetic” non-vegetarians, sorry to burst your bubble – there is no such book!
I have been a vegetarian all my life. Living in a society where eating meat is the norm, following vegetarianism can be tough. During my school days, my friends always asked me to at least taste a hamburger, or their chili cheese fries. According to them, I was missing out on life by not knowing the sheer bliss that is non-vegetarian food.

Salad with Seitan (Wheat gluten - amazing replacement source of meat)
b3.jpg

After I graduated from high school, I presumed, quite naively enough, that my persecution by the oh-so-caring non-vegetarians would end. Yup, naive!
When I was in college, the fact that I was a vegetarian became a more conspicuous part of my personality. Being a vegetarian can be difficult in a predominantly non-vegetarian society. Apart from the constant peer pressure, you also have to be the odd one out when going to restaurants and other social events. You cannot share food because you are used to ordering the exact quantity that you need. And if people don’t know you, they may even perceive you as a snob. You also have to find new recipes to cook for yourself. Thankfully, cooking is fun for me, so I enjoy experimenting with my food.
Social occasions, however, are especially awkward.

b1.jpg

Whenever I sit to eat in a restaurant or a backyard barbecue I am invited to (Yeah, I don’t know why either), my friends always look at me in amazement, like I am some kind of an exotic species they have just encountered.
All kinds of questions pour in, and it almost always leads to the same thing – have a little taste! You are going to love it.
I am not going to lie, I have tasted meat a total of three times in my life and that too in bite size quantities. But, I really really really did not enjoy it, and I am thankful for that. Why? Because I learned something about myself. I had to ask myself – why are you not enjoying it like everyone else?
Then it struck me. I am a vegetarian for one simple reason. The reason is that I cannot stand the fact that something has to die for me to enjoy a meal. I cannot wrap my head around this fact. Again, I am not speaking on behalf of all vegetarians. But, for me, the very thought of an animal being murdered, so that I can be full is very disturbing. It simply does not let me enjoy non-vegetarian food.

b2.jpg

I have many friends who are vegetarians, and they all have their own reasons. Some do not eat meat because of health reasons, others because their doctors have asked them to follow a vegetarian lifestyle, while some others are on the vegetarian wagon to try a different lifestyle. Yes, many people are fashionably vegetarian too. But, how does it matter?
Being vegetarian is a very personal choice. No one else can decide for me what I want and do not want to eat. I am not a saint, neither am I sacrificing a big part of my life.
I am just following my heart.

b5.jpg
b4.jpeg
a8.jpg

I want to get more involved in the Steemit amazing community. Can you guys help me learn how to get a lot of exposure for my posts? I want as many friends as possible to enjoy it. Can anyone help me understand how to do that?

b6.jpg

Thank you. Much love.
Laura <3

Sort:  

Ok, wonderful article and here is a tip for you. In order to get noticed here on Steemit it helps if someone with a lot of Steem power takes an interest in your content. Since you live in the Middle East, these folks may all be sleeping when you post your work. Consequently, by the time they wake up your story gets buried underneath all of the other stuff that has been posted why they were sleeping. Fortunately, someone has created a Web site called, "Catchawhale.com" that allows you to see when the people that hold a lot of Steem power are logged into the platform and reading newly posted material. I would encourage you to use this Web site to strategically plan when to post your work. Cheers!

Just thought of another idea for you. There is this cool steemer named @joanaltres and she has over 7 thousand followers here on Steemit. Just three days ago she mentioned that she is looking for quality content to resteem. I recommend that you become of her followers and then respond to her post from three days ago and let her know that you are excited to be here and could really use her help to get the word out.

The cat does not look amused at all at the table :D Great post !

Those dishes look so captivating and mouth-watering. Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32