Can't stop eating in Seoul

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Annyeonghaseyo Steemians!

I can't believe it has already been five days since I've been in Seoul. It is taking a little longer to get used to logistics and directions! Having said that, getting lost on the streets has been my most favourite part so far. I've made some amazing new friends who just won't let me stop eating! Korean cuisine is fresh, rich, unique, flavorsome, and addictive! Annnnd I've been bingeing on this fermented drink called Makoli - similar to the Apong we get in Northeast India - a delicious nourishing rice beer. It gets you drunk real slow and smooth. I haven't explored beyond Hongdae just yet, because I keep getting lost a little too much. And for some reason, Google Maps is not all that accurate here, so I just downloaded Kakao Maps, a Korean app. I began learning Hangul - the Korean alphabet - but it is still quite intense, making sense of all the directions.

Ok so down to the food and drinks! Restaurants are open all night. Koreans love their food and drinks, so we were stuffing our faces well into dawn. There are no weapons, and there's very strict laws on drugs -- so happy drunk faces everywhere!

Mmm. In no order these are some of my top picks from the last five days with some lovely new friends that I made. Communication has been the best part, it's like telepathy. And with such great food around, there's no need to communicate through any other medium. They have been supremely generous and I am so grateful to be here. Hehehe. Some of the photos are real bad, because I must've been a little drunk by then. Next round, I do sober.

Makoli (fermented rice beer)

It is a smooth kind of sour and sweet, much like sour yogurt, easy on the throat and belly. I drank only Makoli the whole night, and had no hangover the next day. I don't know if I got lucky, or if it only screws you up when you mix with other drinks. The others drank soju (rice liquer shots) as well, and they did have hangovers the next day.

P_20170916_000013.jpg

Samgyeopsal-gui (grilled pork belly bbq)

You cut the pork belly with scissors and BBQ it right there. Then wrap it up in lettuce leaf with a bunch of condiments (raw garlic, red chili paste, soy, lemon paste, cabbage and stuff it whole in your mouth.

P_20170916_000758.jpg

Cheonggukjang (fermented soybean broth)

My friend said even some Koreans dislike the strong smell of fermented beans, but I loved it. A creamy tangy rich warm preparation I keep going back for.

P_20170914_195806.jpg

Japchae (sweet and savory vermicelli noodles with vegetables & sesame seeds)

P_20170914_195959.jpg

Kimchi Stew (Korean classic)

Went into a small, traditional Korean lunch-place in Hongdae, and the Kimchi Stew was super-fulfilling. Served with pickled raddish, kimchi (fermented cabbage), barley tea, and a few other tasty tiny dishes, but I've forgotten some of the names.

IMG_20170915_180909_311.jpg

While food may seem expensive, portions are typically large, and can be shared by two. From the street to up-market restaurants, the quality of food is really top-level and is worth every penny. My hostel-mate swears by Taiwanese food, which he claims is cheaper and just as tasty, if not more. But that, I will explore myself the next trip and confirm.

So there are many more dishes, but I have misplaced their accurate names, or haven't tried all of them yet. Will perhaps do another food and drink post before I get out of Seoul. Do let me know if you enjoyed the blog, and if there are specific details you would like - such as prices, ingredients, names of hotels, etc. I will start documenting them in such a way going forward.

Until then - jal meokkesseumnida! (bon appetit)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.19
ETH 2613.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67