[Tea Junkie] Chai "Masala" Tea

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Like all tea enthusiasts, I love discovering new flavours.
I have grown to love the aroma of a good Chai tea.

Chai Tea is also known as "Masala Tea" in India and Masala means spiced blend.

Although there are many versions of Masala tea, I have finally curated my own after many trial and errors.

WhatsApp Image 2018-09-07 at 12.37.47 AM.jpeg

Ingredients
Crushed Ginger 1/2 inch piece
4 - 5 cloves
4 crushed cardomom
1/2 a cinnamon stick
4 mint leaves
1 regular tea bag - or - 1 teaspoon tea powder
1 cup of milk
1/4 cup of water
1 1/2 teaspoon of organic brown sugar

Instructions: 10 mins

  1. Add 1/4 cup of water to your sauce pan.
  2. Add crushed ginger, cardomom, cinnamon stick, cloves, mint leaves to your sauce pan.
  3. Add the tea bag/powder and let it boil for 5 minutes on medium heat.
  4. Add the milk and sugar and let it boil until the milk rises.
  5. Once the milk rises turn off the stove and move the pan.
  6. Use a strainer to filter the tea into your favourite mug!

Serving: 2 cups


Notes:

  • You can blend all the spices in powder form for a quick fix
  • Mint leaves are not a must but a nice touch
  • You can also use condensed milk instead of regular milk

I used to drink Chai tea from Starbucks all the time and until I tasted an authentic home made Chai.

Do let me know if you get a chance to try out this recipe and how you liked it! I am looking forward to hearing from you :)

WhatsApp Image 2018-09-07 at 12.41.11 AM.jpeg

Tea is my happy hour

With love,
~Mala Praj

Sort:  

Thank you! I will try it out :)

@sibben You're welcome. Let me know how it turns out :)

Congratulations @malapraj! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29