Easy Healthy Banana Bread | Vegan and Gluten Free

in #food7 years ago (edited)

banana bread.jpg

I finally made a perfect gluten free and vegan banana bread! I don't know why, but I've been struggling with vegan/gf baking sometimes not cooking through and just remaining raw on the inside no matter how long I bake it…. Just me? Well anyways, I think I finally figured out a foolproof banana bread! This was my first time using the Betty Crocker gluten free flour and I think the mix of rice and tapioca worked really well.
The bread is moist and soft and there's no dairy, eggs, gluten, or processed sugar and only a little bit of oil. Instead of sugar I used maple syrup and a little agave and I think it ended up perfectly sweet, I mean those ripe bananas have so much natural sugar already! I also added some dairy-free chocolate chips but feel free to leave those out or use nuts or whatever else you might want instead! Enjoy and let me know if you try it!

BA6C97A1-7719-4C56-B2B2-FB98E9901646.jpg

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups of gluten free flour (I used the Betty Crocker all purpose rice blend)

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax meal and about 3 tbsp water)

1/4 cup maple syrup

2 Tbsp agave

3 Tbsp coconut oil

2 ripe bananas

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup almond milk (I used some homemade vanilla, unsweetened almond milk but I'm sure other non-dairy milks or even water would also work)

Optional handful of dairy-free chocolate chips or nuts

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a loaf pan with parchment paper (enough so there's some that hangs over both sides because this makes it super easy to remove from the pan after it's done baking) then spray the paper with a little bit of coconut oil or whatever nonstick spray you have.
Start the flax egg by combining the flax meal and water in a small cup and letting it sit for a couple minutes.
In a large mixing bowl, mash the 2 bananas with a fork and add the coconut oil (make sure it's melted but not too hot), maple syrup, agave, vanilla, vinegar, almond milk, and flax egg and mix until combined.
Add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and mix together until everything is smooth. Then you can mix in your chocolate chips.
Spoon the batter into the loaf pan (the batter should be pretty thick) and bake at 350 for about 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
Let it cool and then it's ready to be sliced up and enjoyed!

Sort:  

Wow looks delicious! I will definitely make sure to try this recipe out. Thank you for sharing!

Good recipe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55