Must-Try Cebu Food Trips!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I was not born in Cebu, originally from Hagonoy, Bulacan. I came here at the age of six, slowly exposed to the Cebuano culture and embraced it. Now, I'm 39 and still no regrets of choosing Cebu as my 2nd home. Hello Steemians! Welcome to Cebu, Philippines!

Today, I just wanna share some of the best local food I've tried here. Food that I most of the time crave for.

  1. Chinese Ngohiong
    This is one of my favorites! Many would ask what it's made of. Mostly say that the recipe includes singkamas (jicama), ngohiong powder, 5 spice powder, ground pork, garlic cloves, onions, seasoning with salt, pepper, honey and soy sauce and rolled in lumpia wrapper. But I'm sure it's a family secret. I can't completely enjoy this without the mix of the soysauce and their secret hot spicy sauce.

IMG_5496.PNG

  1. Kara's Fried Chicken
    Known as KFC ng Colon. Locals flock here because of its delicious fried chicken. Aside from the distinct taste, it's affordable too! Kara’s is not only limited to chicken. They also serve tempura, ngohiong, hotdog, squid roll, longganisa and fried isaw.

IMG_5492.PNG

  1. Tagala's Fried Chicken
    Another place I often visit. Their chicken is unique too. Crispy on the outside yet tender, flavorful and juicy on the inside. They got a tasty sweet and sour sauce plus you get a choice if you want it spicy or original. Yumyum!

IMG_5495.PNG

  1. Silogan ni Gian
    Here, you can eat everything with egg on it. Got a lot of branches and mostly are open day and night, even 24 hours. They cook real-time and for me, one cup of rice is never enough. Here's my favorite porkchop meal there:

IMG_5493.PNG

  1. Doming's Ngohiong
    Another ngohiong adventure with my friends. Found this place located in Guadalupe, Cebu. Their ngohiong was different. Smaller than normal and tastes so good you won't bother how much oil your body might consume bite after bite. They also serve bisaya fried chicken and fried liver and gizzard. So yummy and affordable you'll keep coming back for more!

IMG_5497.PNG

All of these are best paired with "poso or puso" also called hanging rice. Rice wrapped and boiled in a triangular casing made of woven coconut leaves. You can see puso also in the pictures.

That's it for now guys! If you happen to visit Cebu Philippines, make sure you don't miss to visit these places. I'm sure you'll enjoy every bite. Now, I'm drooling!

Thanks for droppin' by Steemians! Enjoy the rest of your weekend! :)

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Oh thank you for the support!

looks good

very! lets eat together some time.

it would be so interesting to try it!)) I have never seen smth like thss before and it's great to try something new)

hi pretty! if you happen to visit our country then you must really try these. new taste for you but im sure youll love them!

That rice ball looks delicious.

Rice and all of them. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34