Day 1 of 2 MiddleEastern style kabobs

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello all!
Today is my first post that is a contribution to the food community and anyone who likes food in general :)
My dad has taught me this recipe and myself and many relatives enjoy this style of kabob also know as shashlik in russian.
Day one will be the marinating process and recipe guide because it takes overnight to marinate it enough so the cooking takes on the next day which I will include photos tomorrow when I will slow cook on skewers. So those who find this interesting and want to see the finished product stay tuned tomorrow on how I set the meat on the skewers and slow cook it over charcoal :)

Lets get into it, first you will need to buy pork butt roast or pork shoulder either one is the same meat just some stores label them differently. 20170804_142234.jpg

  1. Have the store or yourself at home cut the meat into cubes 1 inch by 1 inch roughly.
  2. Three whole onions for flavor and it has enzymes that tenderizes the meat.
  3. Tomato juice that has citric acid in it, citric acid enhances the acids in the tomato and onion. Tomato juice will also tenderize.
  4. Coriander seed spice, 2 tablespoons in a zip lock bag and use a spoon or anything hard to crush the seeds open.
  5. Cumin spice, I like cumin I use about a tablespoon, but you can go down to half a tablespoon if you think its too strong.
  6. 1 teaspoon of salt and pepper.
    Here is a photograph of the items you will need.
    20170804_152602.jpg

Here is a photograph of how I cut the onion which is 1 cut down the middle and just long cuts on the side.
20170804_152954.jpg

Than you will mix it all in a pot the meat, the onion, spices and place it all in the refrigerator for overnight marinating.
20170804_160003 (1).jpg

This recipe was passed down to me from my dad and his relatives and brothers, who have cooked kabob(shashlik) for many years and still do, they have tried many different variations and have concluded this basic recipe works the best in creating a soft pork shoulder with much flavor. If you have found this interesting stay tuned tomorrow as I will show you how to skewer the meat and cook it!!!! I will include some side salads that I prefer and side dishes with this. I really hope someone out there tries this.

As always thanks for stopping by!!!!

Sort:  

MAN! That looks sooo good. Onion looks nice and fresh! Parents would be proud.

Congratulations @madrussian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

My wife is Russian and just loves shashlik!
I must try this recipe and surprise her one day!
Thanks!
......upvoted and resteemed

Awesome acwood, its simple and taste so good!! Thank you for resteem!!! Sometime I will post another great dish russians love, its called Manti!! its a large ravioli mixed with ground pork and ground beef with onion butter wrapped in dough and steam cooked..

Cool! Look forward to it.

Hey welcome, what did you think of my recipe? :D

Haha, I think that dude literally only says "I am Groot"...guardians of the galaxy reference :)

Hey Paul thanks man for commenting :)
Yeah I looked up Mr. Groot he is a troll from what I have read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70