Imagine My Shock| First Seafood Served on Banana Leaves

in #food6 years ago

This is another imagine my shock experience about a bizarre food journey I met along the way while living in la la land. The food mentioned below are bizarre in the way they were served; these food were served using banana leaves. Well, It was almost like an unconscious go-green movement but for example, the old lady in my post seems to have use it since a long time.

Anyway, Let's get to it !

It was about two weeks ago, I went to my favorite mall to hangout. Well On the way, I had the thought of having dinner at the sushi bar but something changed my mind. As I screened through the restaurants around, I spotted a seafood place, where they served various crabs and seashells. Honestly, I was never fan of crab since I knew that I am allergic to it. Yet, due to my randomness, I walked to the counter asking if they accept card as payment. It turned out they didn't. I left the counter a bit disappointed and walked to get some cash.

I got back to it and was very clueless on ordering the seafood. They have to weigh the crabs and the price was based on the crab's weight. Well, this is a public secret that I am very terrible at math so I was just standing for a moment to think. Looking at me clueless, the waiter offered me their reasonable package which only cost about 4,83$. So, I thought to myself, why not?

Then, I sat down waiting my order. Ten minutes have passed till I saw the waitress brought banana leaves and a hot pan filled with crab and seashells I ordered. For a moment I thought, ' where is the plate?'

I T A L I A N C U I S I N E.jpg

I am not a pro food photographer like @howtostartablog but that's by far I can take.

She quickly rolled the banana leaves in my table and just pour the meal into it. I was in bewilderment. I thought, they would serve it in a plate and that I'd get a decent utensils.Not even a fork given so, I had to eat them by hands. The whole scene turned to be a caveman experience. I loved it as it was quite decent seafood. And let me tell you something, that was a very cheap meal although according the normal standard, 4,38$ is a three course meal for a college student. But I don't mind sometimes spending more.

So this one is a bit traditional

Last Christmas, I spent it on the road with my bio family which turned out to be slight miserable trip, had I not being random by talking to different strangers whom I met along the way . It's never a surprise that most of my time with them are unpleasant but there's always a chance to try something new. So, they were taking me to the mountain with a very strange scene where I see the Chinese temple side to side with a mosque. It's good to see them getting a long in that place.

It was 7 am when we reached there. I saw couples of yuca and some local foods along the way but one particular food caught my attention. They looked gooey and made from corn starch but I don't really know what it was made up of. If anyone know, please tell me. I'd appreciate it. Well and as you can see below, most of the foods were served using banana leaves.

I T A L I A N C U I S I N E(1).jpg
God knows where those hands land on except on those food. But meh, street food is always something challenging to try.

I think banana leaf is very sustainable ways of serving food. It's eco-friendly compared to the plates which we're using in our daily life. I am not a fan of washing dishes so this is an alternative for food serving. Perhaps a 5 stars chef, will know how to make it more classier than those food above.

See you in my next bizarre food journey.

witness_ @ocd-witness.jpg

witness_@stoodkev.jpg

Macchiata.jpg

Sort:  

Nice! that's a common practice over here in the Philippines. :)

It can be seen that the lady who prepared this meal is very experienced this type of dish to the point of making a dish a delight. Banana leaf adds to the taste of some types of food. Plus it looks really good.

here in Aceh, Indonesia, we use banana leaf often to serve food. Like "timphan", "bu kulah", and many more. ^_^ nice to read your food journey.

What are you talking!!! That is a perfect meal, I will do it any time.
Wait... I usually do it caveman style LOL

yup. in hawaii it was tea leaves. Here in philippines, it's banana leaf often. it's all good! :)

That's really cool! Serving it on a banana leaf adds to much to the presentation. Being a bit hungry right now, I am feeling like I need to order something from that lady. :P

@chrismccron, I don't think you really want to order something from that lady :-p although if you insist, I am ready with all the medications needed just in case haha

Lol I will throw caution to the wind.

banana leaves like old time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99