All Eggs Are Not Created Equal - How To Know Which Eggs Are The Best Eggs To Eat

in #food8 years ago

Ask anybody which eggs taste better, store bought or homegrown, and the answers the same. Homegrown eggs taste better, but the improvement goes beyond taste. However, in blind taste tests in countless studies, the results show that people can't tell the difference. But that's were the similarities end.

eggsstorevspasture27a6a.jpg

The egg on the left is a pastured eggs vs store bought on the right
credit

Eggs raised yourself are actually better for you and more nutritious. Research has concluded that free-range eggs contain:

  • more omega-3 fatty acids
  • less cholesterol
  • increased vitamins A, E and D
  • less saturated fat
  • increased vitamins A, E and D
  • more beta carotene

Chickens eating things like bugs, greens, seeds and flowers, ingest nutrients and that are not available in commercial feeds and are happier, healthier chickens.

Eggs found in a store can be weeks old by the time you get them as opposed to eggs gathered the day they were laid in your backyard and may have something to do with the perceived difference in taste.

We harvest about two dozen eggs a day from our thirty hens and they keep well, with no refrigerating, for about five weeks as long as they're not washed. Washing eggs removes the protective bloom surrounding the egg, requiring you to refrigerate them.

IMG_20160920_13122396562.jpg

When it rains, the eggs get dirty from the chickens tracking in mud from their feet and then we need to wash them and chill them.

I once had fifty Rhode Island Red's that produced about forty eggs per day and traded them with a local baker for fresh baked goods.

The baker raved about the quality of the eggs and the noticeable difference in the results of her products. It seemed that real, free-ranged eggs improved the quality and texture of the pastries when using my eggs. I couldn't supply her with enough eggs, but she did use them all and I got fresh, baked goods everyday.
Eggnest8f6ad.jpg

credit

One of the reason I grow my own food is I don't trust the food industry in the United States. Their definition of free-range is misleading and unacceptable to me and my chickens.

The USDA, or US-Duh as I like to call it, requires poultry producers claiming to raise free-range eggs or poultry as follows;

Producers must demonstrate to the Agency that the poultry has been allowed access to the outside.

In many cases the only change producers have made to essentially what is still a CAFO (Contained Animal Feeding Operation) is to attach a small, fenced, outdoor area, often no larger than ten by ten feet, to the building.

The birds live in such crowded, unhealthy conditions and find it difficult to find the door leading to this "free-range access" area.

cafo1c763.jpg

Not happy or healthy chickens

happychickens4e22c.jpg

Happy chickens credit

Raising chickens yourself, or buying eggs from someone who does, is the only way to be sure you're getting the best eggs.

@lyndsaybowes recued some battery chickens from a factory farm. You can read her heart-warming post about it here.
We Rescued Laying Hens From A Battery (Factory Farm)

My mom used to tell me not to play with my food, but I didn't listen. I play with my chickens all the time and they do a lot of work for me growing my garden. You can learn how to manage them to grow gardens for you by reading my earlier post: Chickens Planting Gardens - How To Get Chickens To Plant Gardens, Not Destroy Them. It's easy to do and they're really fun to watch.

If you have a smaller space and would like to raise chicken on pasture, then a chicken tractor is your best bet. I'll let @papa-pepper explain that in his post called, CHICKEN & RABBIT TRACTORS – Why I am Building MOVEABLE Cages for our Animals That Allow Them Free Access to Green Grass

@whatsup has a cute story here about Polka and Dot

Eggs Are Eggs

What's the difference

All eggs come from chickens, but they vary depending on how the chickens were raised and what they were fed.

Conventional Eggs – These are your standard supermarket eggs. The chickens are usually raised in an overfilled hen house or a cage and never see the light of day.

They are usually fed grain-based crap, supplemented with vitamins and minerals. May also be treated with antibiotics and hormones.>

Organic Eggs – Were not treated with antibiotics or hormones and received organic feed. May have had limited access to the outdoors.

Pastured Eggs – Chickens are allowed to roam free, eating plants and insects (their natural food) along with some commercial feed.

Omega-3 Enriched Eggs – Basically, they’re like conventional chickens except that their feed is supplemented with an Omega-3 source like flax seeds. May have had some access to the outside.

credit

Conclusions

If you can’t get home-grown, pastured eggs then Omega-3 enriched eggs will be your second best choice. If you can’t get either pastured or Omega-3 eggs, your next best bet is either free-range, cage-free or organic.

Thanks for reading and up voting my post and remember to;

Follow @luzcypher

luzcyphersigfileblue90893.png

Sort:  

Once my wife and I realized the horrific manner commercial laying hens were treated, we started raising our own organically. It has been about six years since we started, and we are on our 2nd batch of hens. Thirteen Black sex link hens have only about 1/4 acre to roam and have defoliated every weed and blade of grass in their area. So we supplement the feed every morning with kale, pulled grass, and any leftover vegetables. We also raise meal worms for them. They love bread. We let them do bug control in the gardens in the late winter/early spring prior to planting.

I find it interesting that my wife sold some eggs to a friend, and she would not eat them because the yolks were too orange. She was used to the pale yellow of conventional store bought.
Thanks for the article.

Thanks for your comments. It is terrible what they do to those poor hens in those factories. Creepy, they look like prisons. My hens love kale and sunflowers which I grow for them along with all our kitchen scraps and fallen fruit. It's apple picking time right now so they're loving all the pumice from pressing apple cider. I thinkk they get a little drunk from it. Drunken Chicken, sounds like a good recipe. I also have encountered people that prefer store bought eggs and some people don't like real food, preferring processed food they grew up on. Strange, but most people rave about the food we grow. Good for you form raising hens. I'll never go back

We will never go back either. We also raise rabbits and meat birds. We try to do the best we can, with what we have. I am preparing a Meat Bird post, and should post in the next week. Thanks for the reply.

Great! We raise rabbits and chickens too. I'll look for your post

Awesome! You're going love those eggs. Good post

love those eggs for breakfast

They're the best, I eat them everyday. Thanks for the up vote. Do you raise eggs too?

Once you've gotten used to truly free-range eggs, it's impossible to enjoy the thin, runny ones they have at the store. Nice set of links! I'll have to check out some of these related articles. :)

You're right I can't go back. It's like that with a lot of food once you're used to eating what you grew yourself. I feel spoiled.

OMG
Eggs!
I Like them Hard Boiled
With Sea Salt!
So Glad I Am A Follower Of Yours
@luzcypher!

you are absolutely correct!! We had chickens, layers, and lots of them while we lived in Idaho. There is nothing like a free range egg. Thanks for posting Steem ON!

Thanks, I'm loving the recipes you're posting and am going to make some. Got any good egg recipes?

Yummy! I know what's for breakfast in the morning. Thanks

Hey @gringalicious the link you sent me is not working. I was going to make some breakfast this more and checked it. Its gone. Can you see if we can get it back?

I get my eggs from the local farmers market. Even there I had to try a few different vendors to find eggs with the bright orange color that are pasture raised. I feel different and better eating these eggs.

Not all eggs are the same that's for sure. It really matter what their diet is. If they're eating healthy then the eggs will be healthy. I can even see and taste the difference of the eggs depending on the time of year they are gathered. Spring time makes the best eggs I think because there's lots of good things to eat in spring for the chickens.

Thanks for the information..I always wanted to know it.

Why should we eat eggs at all? At the base it's the menstruation of a henn!

I gather you don't eat eggs. I do because they taste great, are very nutritious, store well, easily produced, environmentally sustainable, utilitarian and a by product of my working hens, just to name a few reasons. Besides, I can trade them locally for honey, scones, cookies and beer. Just a few reasons I enjoy eating poultry ovaries

Poultry ovaries. Yumm.... Who doesn't love a good cheesy omelette.

With chives and bacon. The best.

You just made me super hungry.

Take a look at the link in these comments from @gringslicious that will made you drool. I tried it for breakfast this morning and it was awesome.

We finally started "growing our own" eggs!
Nice Post!

Awesome! How many hens did you get? I see you got some pigs too.

So far we are way out of balance.
Five hens and six roosters.
Plus, I'm about to get another rooster.

Your neighbors are going to love you with all those roosters.Watch the roosters, they'll fight obviously, but keep the one that calls the hens when he finds food. Some roosters hog the food, others make sure the hens eat first. That's the one to keep.

So far they are all doing well, and almost all the neighbors have their own roosters, so no one minds (yet).

We'll sort through the roosters soon enough, and may see who are the best ones to keep.

Thanks again for your excellent advice.

We have been raising chickens for about six? years, I can't imagine going back to store eggs. We have enough (30-40 hens) that even through the winter there are a few hens laying so we have enough eggs for ourselves.

That's awesome. We got about 30 hens right now. Thinking of getting 100 next season. Not so much for selling eggs . We use them to prepare land for planting and we've learned how to manage them to actually plant gardens for us. You can read about that in this post titled;
Chickens Planting Gardens - How To Get Chickens To Plant Gardens, Not Destroy Them Thanks for reading my post and welcome to Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60441.03
ETH 3344.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48