Which Salt Do You Prefer?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

What type of salt do we use to cook? How many types of salt do we know? Sounds so gourmet when we cook our special food with a fancy name of salt. In the end, salt is salt with salted taste. Everything has good benefits but consuming too much will always have side effects.

alderwood salt.JPG

Alderwood Salt.

It has slightly woody smoke taste. I use to sprinkle at any cooked food such as grill beef, grill salmon or sweet potato fries.

hawaian lava.JPG

Hawaiian Lava Salt.

It's actually sea salt blend with activated charcoal, mostly good as finishing in seafood.
I love this salt, since it contains charcoal and the charcoal is use to treat poisoning. My son has heavy metal poison so I use this one a lot in most my food.

french grey salt.JPG

French Grey Salt.

According to google, the light grey color comes from the minerals that are absorbed in the clay lining of the salt ponds. To me, beside the fancy name, this salt brings more flavors if I brine or marinate the meat overnight before I grill.

hawaian alaea.JPG

Hawaiian Alaea Salt.

They said this salt is the most healthiest salt ever because it contains minerals, electrolytes, and also has cosmetic benefits.
I use this one for soup and vegetables.

pink himalayan salt.JPG

Pink Himalayan Salt.

I sometimes confuse which one should I use, I have a lot of different salts at home. I use Himalayan salt once in a while.

sea salt.JPG

Sea Salt.

I use sea salt mostly for brining and I put in a small container with some water in it and place it in living room as soothing atmosphere in the room.

iodized salt.JPG

Iodized Salt, (aka table salt).

Mostly in the dining table, quick and easy to grab if hubby complaining not enough salt in my food.

Too bad I'm running out of Kosher Salt, otherwise I would have another picture.

Sort:  

This is a really cool post! Iodine for the win!

yes, we do need Iodine.

I would like to meet someone able to differentiate between these kinds of salts in a blind experiment with cooked food.

Hm.. tricky one !!

My favorite, and the one I use daily is Pink Himalayan Salt. I like the added minerals.
I like this post!

Thank you. I sometime confuse, which one should I add to the food?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51