Melkkos - A South African favourite

in #food6 years ago

Whenever we are faced with rainy overcast weather here in Sunny South Africa, we always feel the need for comfort food. We can handle a day or two of - as we call it - miserable weather, but as soon as it rains for longer than two days, we don't cope so well. And that is when comfort food is needed.

Melkkos is a traditional Afrikaans meal, and when directly translated into English it means Milkfood.

All you do to make this delicious milk "porridge" is basically putting 2 litres of cold milk in a pot, whisking in 250g of corn flour/maizena and you keep whisking it until it boils. Once it starts to boil, you turn the heat right down and let it simmer for a couple of minutes. Once it is nice and thick, you add in a heaped tablespoon of butter and you can then serve it with cinnamon and sugar.

Don't let it fool you, it may look a dessert, but it is so filling that we make it for dinner. My son often asks me to make this, but I like to keep it just for those miserable days when I miss the sunshine.

If you try my recipe, drop me a line and tell me what you think of it.

Bon appetit!

Sort:  

Ahhh, melkkos :)

I can't remember the last time I had some. In fact, I've never tried to make it myself. That's definitely one for the list.

Give it a try, so easy and definitely a winner in my home.

Definitely does help to stave away the cold dreary days @luckylie as you mentioned 2 days of clouds and rain really get's us down.

Your post has been selected to be entered into @teamsouthafrica's Daily Nominated Post section in Teamsouthafrica's Discord group. Congratulations!

#teamsouthafrica
https://discord.gg/9KVccPH Come Connect

Thank you. I will definitely join you guys.

Lovely comfort food for a cold Sunday night @luckylie, used to make this regularly for my kids...when they were still kids ;) Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59