Tropical-fusion Lentils from Heaven!

in #food8 years ago (edited)

I've been procrastinating on beginning to post because I don't do great photos...
but today I invented such a strange dish I just must share this!!

I started by putting a whole bag of lentils in a huge pot and rinsing them several times.
Pouring the last of the water out, I began cutting up the following vegetables into 1/2 inch cubes
Cauliflower
Eggplant
Carrots
Squash
Nopal (cactus)
Chile Poblano (1 fresh)
Okra (about 6 of them)

All together these vegetables were about twice the size of the lentils
sitting on top of the wet lentils, as I added them to the pot.

Next came the liquid. In a blender I filled it half way with water and added
three handfuls of flaked dried coconut
a handful of fresh chives
a two inch cube of fresh ginger

I blended for about a minute and added this fragrant mixture to the Lentils/vegetables.
Then repeated for a second time to make enough liquid to fill the pot.

Then I added to the pot
Salt (about two teaspoons)
GInseng powder (one teaspoon)
Dried Thyme (one tablespoon)
Paprika (two teaspoons)
Coconut oil (two tablespoons)

I always do the preparing and my husband does the actual cooking on our outside balcony,
so I sent him up with the lentils to cook, and some leftover chicken to munch on.

When he came down with the finished meal, he told me he had added his chicken
to the soup.

Well it turned out to be a very thick soup
to which I added 4 tablespoons of cream cheese.

The end product reminds me of
Lentil Jumbalaya Chicken fricasee

OMG I'm so glad I made about 5 kilos worth!!!

If I get any response at all, I will keep sharing my recipes.
Thanks for reading and
HAPPY EATING!!!

Chefita LoveTaste

Sort:  

Congratulations @lovetaste! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lovetaste! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53