Cheese Puffs AKA Gougères

in #food6 years ago

IMG_0514.jpg

Sometimes when I find I have some leftover cheeses and I don't know what to do with them, I will make some gougères which are savory choux dough flavored with cheese. Traditionally, Gruyère cheese is used but any hard or semi-firm cheeses can be used. You can use one type of cheese or a mixture. I also like to add some fresh herbs to my dough but you can leave it plain. These cheese puffs are perfect as a snack and they pair really well with wine so next time when you have a party you can serve these along with cocktails. Gougères are quick to put together and you can make a big batch, keep them in the freezer and they reheat well in the oven.

Gougères

adapted from Alain Ducasse

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/4 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 tsp smoked paprika
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (I used a combination of Gruyère and parmesan), plus more for sprinkling
  • 2 tsp chopped fresh herbs ( I used dill)
  • ground black pepper
  • Maldon sea salt

In a small bowl stir together the flour, salt, and paprika. In a medium sized saucepan combine the milk, water and butter.

IMG_0518.jpg

Bring the mixture to a boil. Turn off the heat and add in all the flour mixture. Use a wooden spoon and stir until a smooth and homogenized dough forms. TIP: If you mix in the flour with the heat on, there will be tiny balls of uncooked flour.

IMG_0517.jpg

Once the dough forms, turn the heat back on and cook the dough for another 10-20 seconds or until a slight crust forms on the bottom of the pan. Remove the dough and place it into a mixing bowl and mix on low speed for minute to slightly cool down the dough so when you add in the eggs you do not cook the eggs. Add in the eggs one at a time and let the dough mix completely in between each addition. Once all the eggs are added, mix in the cheese and dill.

IMG_0519.jpg

I like to use an ice cream scooper to portion out my Gougères. I find it is faster and more even than piping the dough. Dip the ice cream scooper in water in between each scoop so the batter does not stick to the ice cream scooper. Evenly space the balls of dough onto a silicone baking sheet or parchment paper.

IMG_0516.jpg

Sprinkle the tops of the dough with freshly ground black pepper and Maldon sea salt or any coarse salt. Top with some extra shredded cheese. Bake in a preheated 400 degrees F oven for 5 minutes and turn down to 350 degrees F oven and bake for another 20-25 minutes or until the gougères are golden brown. Yum!

IMG_0515.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-08T16:21:48
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 406.85/200.00
Total Photos: 64
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Thanks for the recipe, looks delicious!

Thanks so much for dropping by @almi.

I never knew you could something so tasty and nice with cheese leftovers haha. I'll have to try it, great recipe!

I hope you have fun experimenting with the recipe. Thank you for your comment.

I love this recipe! I am going to resteem for future reference @loveself, what a great idea for all of those leftover cheeses!! Wonderful!

Thanks my friend for your support. You can also make them bigger, split them in half and fill it for a sandwich.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55