Food Fight Friday - Eggs and Soldiers

in #food6 years ago (edited)

aviary-image-1532700428102.jpeg

Truth be told I haven't done much cooking this week. I've been in lazy vacation mode. But usually vacation means long lazy mornings and eggs! So here you have an egg and soldiers.

Let's get cracking!

Cold egg. Cold water. Into a pot. Crank to high and cover.

1532700166024.jpg

Sshhhhhhh!! Listen? Is that water boiling? Go on. Take a peek...

If yes then take it off the heat. Keep covered for egg-zackly three minutes. While you're at it say, "Heeeey girl!" to my reflection in the pot lid.

aviary-image-1532700243967.jpeg

I will skip the tutorial on how to make toast. I know you are all egg-cellent chefs and have mastered toast making.

Cut the toast into strips to make your army of brave little dipping soldiers.

20180727_094709.jpg

I couldn't find my egg cup, so I improvised and used a shot glass. Cut the top off your egg and behold the soft yolk and creamy whites.

This is how I like it. Omelet it go if you like your egg firmer or softer. Just adjust the cooking time.

aviary-image-1532700212349.jpeg

There you have it! If you're reading this and enjoy cooking why not join us for #foodfightfriday? There are contests, SBD giveaways and lot of fun. Just take a look @foodfightfriday's page and you'll see!

L.

Sort:  

Would I eat that every morning???......
4BB69C17-A3EC-4BC3-8005-8F8C00CC414F.gif
Now let’s up the Annie a bit, how about a bacon toast sandwich dipped in that soft boiled egg?? What would that be called??
A Eggs and Bad A$$ Soldiers.
Well done @lizzyib this post was epic, you are definately a flavor that is needed on Food Fight Friday.

You know, that's puzzled me for years... why are the called soldier's?... they never look like little men.

I think they are soldiers in spirit only. They sacrifice their bready existence for the greater good of....for the greater good of food fight Friday!

Dippy dippy crunch, mmmm

How are you Lizzy? How is your health?

Hey you! Ya, you there lil miss @lizzyb, that was a great post! Someone’s gonna really have to bring the heat if they wanna take my vote away from you. 👍🏿

Oh gosh. Thank you. 😊

I never even knew that toast was utilized in this manner.........I think this may have just changed my life. Never again shall I be foiled by those little jelly packets at the continental....

Well that sure has an artistic component to it! Now you just need 5 more eggs, and a pound of bacon and you will have a proper breakfast lol.

You got a 4.07% upvote from @upme thanks to @lizzyib! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

I feel like every week you have something simple to make but awesome to eat, which makes it a double threat of taste and preparation. Plus, like in this case, they can be things I've never thought of doing before with food, which makes them creative, too. :)

Aww shucks. Thank you. I have a ton of dietary restrictions so I do eat rather simply, but if I didn't find a way to put a creative spin on things I'd be bored in a second!

Sorry to hear about the dietary restrictions, though I could probably use some to get me losing weight again. :)

I hear you about the creative spin. When I'm free styling, I tend to go off the basic concept and then go for ingredients I like that might not be the intent, but ones I think go together. I don't do that often enough to really claim it as any kind of skill, but it keeps my interest more when I can add a few things.

Not sure if it helps the flavor any or not. Things tend to change from one time to the next. :)

You have no idea how many times we have eggs and toast. I have never once heard them called eggs and soldiers. That is awesome!! You are what helps make Food Fight Fridays awesome. Thanks @lizzyib

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68874.67
ETH 3743.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72