Cook With Us #17 - Food Art - My Art of Food Journey

in #food5 years ago (edited)

The kitchen is my happy space, the place where I can do just as I want, create and tease the senses - taste, beauty, smell and texture!
Food Art or the Art of Food is what I've grown to love doing here on the blockchain - first on Steemit and now also here on Whaleshares, both providing wonderful challenges!

So I will be going down memory lane and share some of my arty food creations with you all today as my contribution for this week's Cook With Us Week #17 - Food Art.


Many who have been following my blog are familiar with my sandwiches, so I will share a couple that fit the theme of Food Art with you.

The theme was Spring, so I made a Spring Garden with regular sandwich ingredients.
IMG_20180507_163129.jpg

We can paint with food, and this open sandwich is a perfect example - topped with Cheese Spread coloured with food colouring and using a toothpick to get a kind of tie-dye effect.
IMG_20181015_164141.jpg

A Christmas tree made with sliced crepe rolls filled with a creamed Spinach and Feta filling.
IMG_20180422_191145.jpg

A heart shaped open sandwich topped with Cream Cheese, Raspberries, Blueberries, Mung Bean Sprout and thinly sliced Biltong - the latter being a South African delicacy of dried and cured meat.
IMG_20181202_175017.jpg

Another open sandwich with Smoked Beef, Cream Cheese, Raspberries, Blueberries and Cherry Tomatoes.
IMG_20190224_174312_1.jpg


We can write with food ingredients as well and this is one I made for the Fruits and Veggies Monday contest using Strawberries, Raspberries, Blueberries and Cherry Tomatoes.
FAVM.jpg


This was a Spinach & Prawn Roulade, served with Spinach Foam and extra plump Prawns.
The Roulade was light and fluffy, sprinkled with Parmesan Cheese and filled with a rich Prawn Pate using Cream Cheese, flavoured with Horseradish and diced plump Prawns, adding divine flavours from the ocean, another favourite place of mine!

IMG_20180613_154345.jpg

The theme for this challenge was 'Make a dessert with a common vegetable' - I used Beetroot and made a Beetroot & White Choc Mousse with Ultimate Beetroot Choc Brownies.
IMG_20180719_123041_1.jpg

I used to think Vegan food was boring, but through blogging I have learnt that one can create quite a taste sensation by only using plant based ingredients. When the challenge was Vegan, I made individual Eggplant cups, filled with layers of smoky brown Lentils & Walnuts in a garlicky Tomato, Onion & Mushroom sauce; topped with creamy Potato mash and served on a bed of Vegan Cheddar Cheese Sauce.
IMG_20180705_184433.jpg

I did a series called Gifts from the Heart and this was Ouma Lily's Herbal Tonic Wine infused with herbs and spices.
IMG_20181221_175038.jpg

Cookies and choccies were also made for this popular series.
IMG_20181214_165803.jpg

IMG_20181211_161425_1.jpg


I can wax on and on about food, but will stop the verbal diarrhea and end off with one of my favourite Cook With Us entries - Apple Roses, which are slices of cinnamon & sugar spiced Apples rolled in a flaky pastry and baked.
IMG_20180825_164239.jpg


I hope you've enjoyed this and perhaps been inspired to start playing in the kitchen, so a massive thank you to the @cookwithus team - @pandamama and @offoodandart for the wonderful weekly challenges and of course the generous sponsors @unity, @jepu, @krazykrista, @nutfund and @derangedvisions.
You are all amazing :)
Check out the official COOKWITHUS POST, and show us your Food Art!

Qurator lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

!steemitworldmap -29.888841 lat 30.922785 long Lily's Cottage Durban West d3scr

Sort:  

You must have so much fun in the kitchen @lizelle! I think my favourite in terms of artistry are the cheese spread open sandwiches - they are amazing, like small inflatable cushions!
And in terms of "I would like to eat right now!" my favourite is the beetroot chocolate mousse. I used to run a juice and smoothie bar, and I became fascinated with the amazing colourful creations you could make using fruit and veggies. I was always wondering what vegetable you could use to create a blue colour, and once when we had a juicer malfunction which sprayed red cabbage juice everywhere, I found out that red cabbage juice stains bright blue!
(Though I'm not sure if a cabbage-flavoured white chocolate mousse would taste very nice!)

Oh yuk, cabbage flavoured white choc mousse ;);)
That one was the easiest and the most surprising one, I was like a child when I saw the patterns the colours made :)
Thank you so much for your interesting comments! I just looove smoothies and juices!

Look so delicious thank for sharing

Thank you so much @thobo!

Thank you so very much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so very much, really appreciate it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lizelle
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=cook-with-us-17-food-art-my-art-of-food-journey


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You are an artist, Lizelle! No doubt about that! Just but looking at these photos I can tell you are a very creative soul with a good sense of colour and composition! Kudos to you for creating such amazing treats!

Gosh thank you so much @lymepoet, it's something I really enjoy doing :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, these aren’t impressive or anything. I love that eggplant bowl and those cookies and choccis are calling my name. I’d be all over those Apple roses too but they are almost too pretty to eat. Although I’m sure as soon as I smelled the cinnamon I’d have no problem devouring every last bite. Great post my friend.

Thank you @puravidaville, nothing like an Apple & Cinnamon pastry hot off the press not so ;)

You’re so right.

@lizelle. Thank you so much for supporting @artzone—much, much, thanks. You rock, chef! ❤️

Only a pleasure, it's just a tiny bit but all the little bits add up and help others not so! I'm truly thankful for the curation and encouragement from @artzone.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love your spring garden sandwich (Can't wait for the real spring)

It's already warming up here in Durban, we've hardly had a winter! Thank you so much for your support and feedback @rynow!

your creativity with cooking is amazing and inspiring, and yet I still cook pretty plain myself I need to step it up a bit ;)

I just enjoy playing ion the kitchen, thanks for the kind words @tattoodjay! Your wife's lucky you cook, my hubby only makes tea or coffee, toast and a boiled egg, nothing more ;)

My wife send to like cooking a lot till she had all these dietary restrictions but often we cook together or I do it
But never have I or will I make tea or coffee lol I never have hot drinks and pretend I don’t know how to make them lol

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enchantedspirit.

Thank you for the delicious chocolate cake @helpie , really appreciate your encouragement and support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61841.74
ETH 3420.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47