What is Crystallized Inteligence?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

What is crystallized intelligence? "Crystallized intelligence is defined as the ability to use learned knowledge and experience."  First, I never before heard the term crystallized intelligence  and it is no doubt because I am unfamiliar with that branch of thinking  in the realm of psychology.  So I looked it up. 

What I found was Fluid  vs crystallized intelligence and thus far unrelated to the story I am  about to tell that triggered my press release. I hope you read to the  end  and I thank you for doing so.  I was  talking to a friend recently about how my son at age 3 would not allow  me to read unless I read to him. I mentioned his favorite book he would  always bring and say "mommy please read." What I found fascinating at  the time was that he would set himself up comfortably under my arm, had  his eyes peeled on the book, not moving an inch, or uttering a word  until I finished reading the whole book. 

This kept up for awhile, after  which he would sit with the book and go through page by page reading  aloud with the same intonation he heard. So this  day a friend visited and heard him reading aloud. She was so fascinated  that she stood quietly behind him as he read. at the end of which she  announced "My God, This child can read! Amazing! Well I  had a good laugh because my child had memorized the book, turning the  leaves at the right time reading verbatim. If you asked him what it was  about he would tell you based on how he felt and thought. 

My friend's response was "I  am told this is called crystallized intelligence where kids do not  necessarily understand or internalize what they memorize versus fluid  memory of older children and adults."
My response was I beg to disagree. "As I recall my experiences as a child from age 3, I am ready to disagree       with the term crystallized intelligence in relation to a kid and certainly do not think it applies across the board. It is a subject for debate." While  agreeing that the child may not fully understand or can put in full  context what they are saying it has nothing to do with their ability to  recall verbatim long stretches of texts or even whole books, videos, and  even when to turn the pages. The unthinking part has to do with learned  responses not with memory or what comes naturally to them.  We are  back to this business of listening. 

Children have a lot to say if you  only listen and adjust your thinking to theirs in order to understand.  You improve a child's self confidence when you can do that and respond  to them as thinking intelligent human beings, that what they have to say  is important, and not as "you wouldn't understand." When you listen to a  child they challenge your thinking and your perception. As little as  they may be that kind of response not only confuses them but frustrates  them. My young son at the time used to respond with "but why"  every time he posed a question and I answered. Eventually, and not the  thing to do, I would say "because I say so."  He wore me out! The look  on his face made me feel badly as he walked away looking very upset. 


Like a  dog that worries a bone he would be back a few days later with the same  question and "but why" hoping to get answers. Sometimes I would try to  create an analogy to explain for a better understanding. 

 That suggestion came from a book: Millionaire Success Habits by Dean Graziosi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67