A must visit: Department store basement food halls in Tokyo.

in #food7 years ago

“Depachika” is the nickname for Japanese department store basement food hall.  It is like a food paradise for foodie. 

The first time I entered the Mitsukoshi Ginza basement floor, I felt like this is the place I belong.

Most of the “Depachika” department food halls are filled with individual food kiosk.  You will find everything from pastries, Japanese traditional sweet, cooked food (bento box, traditional Japanese food like tempura, grilled skewer etc.), prepared food (salad, sandwiches etc.), fresh sushi and sashimi, traditional prawn crackers (ebisen), vegetables and fruits, alcohol beverages (wine, sake, whisky etc.), tea and more.  It is really a one stop shop for foodie.  

You can almost guarantee to find at least one major department store with a food hall by a major Japanese station.  My Japanese friend told me the idea is to make it convenience for the busy working class to buy a nice meal on the way home.

Let’s explore Mitsukoshi food market together…

Prepared food ready to eat.

My favourite Wagyu beef.

Fresh seafood section.

Traditional Japanese desserts. 

I can never leave a Depachika empty hand…hahaa

Our snack for tonight…..yum yum :p

Example of a food hall map from Mitsukoshi website:

Few of my favorite depachikas in Tokyo:

Mitsukoshi, Chuo-ku, Ginza 4-6-16

Matsuya, Chuo-ku, Ginza 3-8-1

Tokyu, Shibuya-ku, Shibuya 2-24-1

Takashimaya, Shibuya-ku, Sendagaya 5-24-2

Tobu, Nishi-Ikebukuro, Toshima-ku 1-1-25

Tip:If you go near the department closing time, you might find some good discounts on the perishable food like sushi and sashimi.

Sort:  

Interesting! and valuable information! (If you know how to get around in Tokyo....haha I found it very hard when I was there)

Yeah..true hahaaa Tokyo's metro system is very complex.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88