Boterham... Ik heb een Boterham... Ik eet Boterham... When You have too many repeats...

in #food6 years ago (edited)

20181018_0115.JPG

Boterham ...

Yes... by the time you started to wonder from the title... you would have started to guess the picture right beside me.

Ever since I have started learning Dutch using the Duolingo app, I kept having these repeated nouns right at my face...

Melk , Eppel, Rijst , Brood, Boterham...

And by the time the repetitive nouns kept creeping into your brain to the point you do not even need a google translate to type out these words, you would be so adjusted to it you begin to wonder if you only eat these things...

And then.... it's like something is reeling you in...

meme-boterham.png

*Yes... you will eat a sandwich today...

MUAH HA HA HA HA...

And that was what I prepared this morning.

Introduce to you (above) my breakfast , lunch and dinner!

I have used half of this hot cross raising bread that was frozen in my refrigerator for almost 2 months to make a bunch of ham sandwich with spread cream cheese.

It is just like the words that kept repeating in my mind... so much so that I feel overly full with it. haha.

A lot of people think that bread baked usually won't last, especially these bakery ones; but if you have frozen them about a day after it was fresh out of the stove with a new / good conditioned fridge, you will still be able to keep its freshness.

What you can do is take those frozen ones, especially if they still have some icicles on it, bake / air-fry it for about 5-10 minutes.

I tuned to 100 deg C 10 minutes using my air-fryer and they turned out crisp and fresh.

If you feel they are a little dry, you can spray some water on them before you bake them. The new moist of water will soften and revive the dormant bread.

Alternatively, you can also steam it. It will be super soft and fragrant.

Although it looks a little overkill for the same food for 3 meals (along with slice cucumbers and coffee), it isn't that bad especially you are trained with survival mode before.

If you are curious about how Duolingo works to repetitively make you memorise the new word you try to learn, please feel free to click on the image above where I recently managed to screen record it for viewing pleasure. By the time I started to record this one, I am already in level two; but yes. Like the olden days during the 80s and 90s how kids first learned in kindergarten / primary, it is very similar.

They start with one word...

and then they start to expand the use of the one word with other pronouns, definite articles, auxiliary verbs, be verbs and so on...

I think by the time you read the sentence above, you would start to feel dizzy too...

I hope this light post with a little bit of cooking hack would have entertained you and enlighten you some new ways to keep your bread a little longer from wastage.

Until then

mini-jess-smile-128.png
Thank You for Your Time


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 285 (10/18/18)

This is even cooler! Learning dutch! Rather interesting tho.

Upvoted!

Hehe, Dutch has become part of your daily life now @littlenewthings :D

haha yes... it is starting to sink in. I am now trying to practice otherwise my mind start to drift and I slack later.

I have added an extra enticing photo.... to emphasise how luring the instruction was...

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Tres bian~~

Merci beaucoup!

I'm super impressed that you're learning Dutch, and I totally get survival mode. I can exist on tortillas and avocados for a while. ;)

haha. Thank you for the encouraging words @katrina-ariel !
My brain is still rather melting...

I'd love to have tortillas and avocados... but that's like the most expensive food you can get in Malaysia (for they are imported)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77