Vietnamese street food - Shrimp paste with tofu and rice vermicelli

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit friends! I´m back with another Vietnamese street food recipe which I talked about in my previous post! This time I show you how to make the dish called `Bun mam tom´ from Hanoi - it consists of noodles with tofu, pork belly and shrimp paste. It is one of the most popular street food in Vietnam, because of its simplicity, yet really extreme flavor! The shrimp paste is fermented ground shrimp and sun dried. It  is subjective to each person, some finds it pungent (like stinky durian) and others find it savory sweet. I would recommend you to give this dish a try! Let´s get started!

Ingredients

  • 1 kg rice vermicelli
  • 400g block fresh firm tofu
  • 300 k pork belly (thinly sliced)
  • fishballs (optional)
  • cucumber
  • mint leaves
  • lettuce
  • coriander

For the sauce (Mix these ingredients together)

  • 3 tbsp fermented shrimp paste (asian grocery store)
  • 2 tbsp suger
  • 1 lime
  • 1 birds eye chili


TOFU

Cut the tofu into large cubes. When the oil is heated to at least 350 degrees, carefully add the tofu pieces (and the fishballs) into the wok. Fry, stirring occasionally, until it is golden brown on both sides, crispy on the outside and yet still soft on the inside. Put the finish tofu pieces on paper towels, so it gets rid of most of the oil.

RICE VERMICELLI

Put 1 tbsp of vinegar (to keep the noddles white) into a pan with boiling water (highest level), add the noodles (turn down the level) and leave it for 5 minutes. Rinse the noodles well in cold water so they don´t stick together.

PORK BELLY

Put the pork belly into the pan with already boiling water and cover it with the lid (for 5 min on highest level, leave it for 15-20 ore minutes on lowest level until it cooked through. Let it cool down and slice thinly.


It´s done! 

To serve, cut deep-fried tofu into bite-sized pieces. Grab a bit of everything and dip in the sauce. Enjoy it!



                                                                               


Follow me @lisadang



Sort:  

O I didnt see your post ...
Looks so good and delicious !

I immediately wanted there

Other than this, there's a few things made with shrimp paste that I like in Singapore.

  1. Shrimp paste chicken
  2. Rojak - it's a malay word meaning everything mix together or something like that.
  3. Tauhu goreng - Fried Tofu with shrimp paste and some veg like bean sprouts.

Interesting :D I would love to see a post about it

I have some pictures of 2 of them. Let's see.

I love mam tom, thanks for the post <3

You're welcome <3

Do a recipe on Pho plz.....
Missed the taste of Vietnam....

I definitely will do it!

@lisadang.
Thank you for your recipe.

Vietnamese street food is one of my favorite.
I follow you.

Yes it is so good! Thank you, I follow you back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64