How to make healthy Korean pancakes (Pajeon)

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Annyeonghasseyo 안녕하세요 Steemit friends! I really love the Korean kitchen and especially their pancakes, because they are super easy to make and it is totally up to you which ingredient you throw inside. I show you how to do the basic Korean pancake aka Pajeon 파전. `Pa´ 파 means green onion and the jeon `전´actually hasn´t got an exact translation, it rather means `anything dipped in a flour + water kind of batter and pan fried´. Besides the basic Korean pancake there are several kinds of pancakes like the one with seafood, tofu or kimchi. I really get hungry now, so let´s move on to the quick and easy recipe!

For the pancakes:

  • 3 teaspoon vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup all purpose flour or rice flour
  • 1 cup of cold water
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1tbs soypaste

Finely chopped vegetables:

  • green onions
  • chinese chives
  • carrots
  • zucchini 
  • (If you think these ingredients are too `boring´, simply add some chopped cooked meat chicken/pork)

For the sauce:

Mix these ingredients in a small bowl

  • 2 tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tbs vinegar
  • 1 tbs sugar
  • chopped onions
  • chopped chilli chieves
  • 1tbs sesame seeds

I got the bird´s eye chilli of my cute little tree. If you eat a lot of spicy things, I always recommend planting a chilli tree. It´s worth it!

1. Clean and wash your handful vegetables and cut them into long pieces (you can also chop the vegetables slimmer than I did)

2. Mix the batter by mixing 1 cup flour, 1 cup water, 1 tbs soypaste and 1/2 tbs salt in a bowl until the batter is smooth 

3. Put the green onions, carrots and zucchini into the batter - mix well

4. Add about 4 tbs vegetable oil to the heated pan

5. Gently place your Chinese chives/green onions on the pan parallel to each other, coat them with the batter, put the beaten egg separately into the pancake

6. While the pancake is being cooked, keep pressing it slightly

7. Once the other side is lightly brown, turn it over

8. Cook a few more minutes until the pancake turns crispy and golden brown- flip it over again

9. It takes 5-7 minutes to cook the pancake depending on how thick you make it :)

10. Serve the pancake with the dipping sauce 


Enjoy it friends! I hope to see you on my next post


                                                                                      


Follow me

lisadang

Sort:  

God, I love eating pajeon! How could I forget about them, I used to make them all the time a few years ago — thanks for reminding me of them :) I'll try your recipe!

Looks lovely. Thank you for posting.

Yummy! I can smell your delicious pancakes! :D I am a big fan of asian dishes but I really don´t know much about it so I am very grateful to have you here. It looks mouthwatering as always

Thank you @soldier! Glad you liked it - more is coming :*

Yummy looks really good!

Thank you :)

Glad i had lunch with the super heroes or I'll feel hungry reading this. :-)

Yes, it makes really hungry just by looking at the picture

Looks really delicious :-)

Thank you! it is really delicious!

I absolutely love Korean pancakes! Time to try make some myself now.. thanks!

Yes do it love! I could eat it everyday

Seafood is tasty, anyway, it looks fine at all. Thank you for the recipe!

Thank you, you are welcome!

That is a fantastic recipe, thank you!!!

Thank you, glad you liked it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43