Is Italy ready for the BURRITO?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

burrito.jpg

My answer is a resounding, Yes! Yes, yes, Italy IS ready for the burrito! We've been in Italy now almost a year and a half. And oh man do I miss sinking my teeth into a La Cumbre burrito…..aaahhh. My mouth is watering as I write these words. The kind of burrito I am sure that Italy is ready for is the Mission Style burrito. A burrito conceived in the city of my birth...San Francisco, California. What makes this kind of burrito so special, you are wondering. Well, let me explain for those of you who have never had the fortune of experiencing one….oh the glory!

Allow my words to be your guide in constructing a visceral experience of a Mission style burrito. The Mission style burrito is a hand held ingenious culinary masterpiece...when it's done right that is. All the major food groups in together: vegetables, fruit (if you consider a tomato a fruit), grains, meat and cheese.

And so it goes...it starts with a perfectly heated tortilla laying open and flat. The heated tortilla is the foundation of it all and it is the magical comal (Mexican griddle) that does the trick. It gives the right elasticity that makes it possible for the expert wrapper to neatly and efficiently tuck all the ingredients into its form. THEN the layering begins. Shredded white cheese is laid down in the center like a guide to the coming ingredients. I’m guessing the cheese is Monterey Jack or something similar. In succession, like a perfectly scored piece of classical music, comes the beans (whole or refried, black or pinto), Spanish style rice, divinely marinated meat of your choice, shredded lettuce, sliced tomatoes, chopped cilantro, fresh guacamole made with Haas avocados, sour cream and salsa of your choice: pico de gallo, roasted spicy red pepper or spicy green tomatillo. Every ingredient is always fresh and the owner of La Cumbre prides himself on this fact. It sounds like a lot and it is, but each ingredient is in just the right amount. A perfectly layered burrito. Each bite has a little bit of everything. With a few swift and skillful folds, the tucked tortilla cradles all the ingredients together into a mouth watering masterpiece and is wrapped in foil blanket snug like a swaddled baby. And finally the last step, the burrito is placed back into the comal for a final treatment. OOOOOOhhhhh yesssssss. I can hear the sound of the steamer. The final product: the Mission style burrito. Oh man….so good!

No words can do justice to this Californian specialty. You really have to try one for yourself. So to all you foodies out there, put this on your bucket list.Things have changed since I was last here in Italy. Sushi buffet and kebab restaurants are not uncommon to find. Just the other day on our way to a soccer game we passed three Asian food markets. Tortillas are pretty much stocked in every grocery store and being American is a cool thing. You can go out in public wearing sweat pants and running shoes as style and not be looked at like you have leprosy. Being chunky is OK too! So come on Italy...let's do this because I know you are ready! And BTW Eddy, if you plan on opening a Taqueria out here in Tuscany, call me and I promise I'll show you the best place for a La Cumbre near me! We'll be partners and we'll be the burrito kings of Italy! Let's talk.

Props to my favorite Taqueria, La Cumbre with two locations: San Francisco, CA and San Mateo, CA. Eddy you are the man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59428.91
ETH 2657.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50