Sweet Potato, Lentil, & Millet Curry Cakes w/ Cilantro Lime Cashew Creme! [VEGAN/GF]

in #food7 years ago

Sweet Potato, Lentil, & Millet Curry Cakes

BONUS - Cilantro Lime Cashew Creme

I was craving something sweet & savory when I came up with these cute curry cakes - they're almost too cute to eat.

Almost ;)

currycakes2.jpg

You've got your sweet coming in from the lovely sweet potato & your savory kicks in from the curry powder. To make these cakes even better I whipped up a batch of cilantro lime cashew creme (more savory) & added some caramelized apple & fennel compote (more sweet).

Did I mention these cakes are VEGAN & GF? They would make the perfect appetizer, or if made into bigger patties, could work for a veggie burger recipe.

currycakes.jpg

Want to make your own curry cakes? I thought so. Here's how I did it:

Curry Cakes

Ingredients

  • 2 small sweet potatoes, cubed & steamed (leave the skin on - yay, fiber!)
  • 1 cup of millet, cooked (I used my Instant Pot)
  • 1 cup of lentils
  • 2 small cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 - 2 T of your favorite curry powder (curry paste would work well here too)
  • Big pinch of salt & pepper ( I never measure S&P, just taste at the end & adjust if needed)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp fennel seed
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • pinch of crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 cup of minced cilantro

Directions

Pre-heat your oven to 350 F

  • Combine cooked millet, lentils, and steamed sweet potatoes in a large bowl. I used a potato masher to combine everything together, but you could also use a food processor.
  • Add your spices/herbs & mix again. I would taste the mixture here & see if you need to add more salt, or other spices.
  • Form small patties (about 1/2 cup rounded) with your hands & place on a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes, flipping the patties at the 10 minute mark.
  • The patties should out slightly crisp on the outside & soft on the inside. If you want them extra crispy you could do a quick pan sear with some olive oil after baking.

Cilantro Lime Cashew Creme

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of cashews, soaked for 2 hours, OR boiled for 10 min if you don't have time to soak
  • 3/4 cup of water
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of cilantro (or more for you cilantro lovers)
  • Juice of 2 small limes
  • pinch of salt

Directions

  • Start soaking your cashews, or boil them in a small saucepan for 10 min, to make them soft enough to blend. Either in your blender, or food processor, combine all the ingredients until you have a smooth, creme like consistency. Easy peasy!

Enjoy! :)

Sort:  

Wonderful recipe and equally wonderful photos @lindseylambz! It's funny I've never seen your posts before considering we joined around the same time, but I'm glad I have now! Just had a wee nosey down your blog and it looks great. You have a new follower and I look forward to seeing more of your food! :-)

Thanks so much @womanonthewing! I'm following you too now! I also just creeped a bit on your blog & it's pretty great - awesome to find another veggie friendly cook! :)

I know! There must be many more veggies I'm yet to come across, and usually everyone's food is pretty unique and creative, so I find myself feeling a little excited each time I find one!!! Nice to meet you :-)

Looks amazingly tasty @lindseylambz just the right kind of food for foodies like me ;-)

Hank you! Nice to meet another foodie on steemit :)

Yes indeed @lindseylambz always nice to meet likeminded people ;-) vegan hugs your way

I love Vegan food! It is the way to go!

You're right about that!

It looks so tasty and its vegan, nice :)

I love curry, so I am going to try this over the weekend! Glad that I found your posts! Thanks @lindseylambz

Thank you! Let me know how it turns out! :)

@lindseylambz
Great content!
Thanks for sharing!

I will definitely be trying this recipe, thank you!
Followed.

I have to say that sounds and looks awesome. I hope to try this one of these days. Thanks for sharing!

This post has received a 15.34 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @richardcrill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82