Lazy Matcha Latte + Quitting Coffee

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1395.jpg

It's been 2 1/2 weeks since I've had a cup of coffee. I can't believe I'm even typing those words - who am I?

It's funny how attached we get to certain foods that it basically becomes our identity. I know coffee was one of those for me - it was one of the only consistent habits I carried on through my adult life. I loved my morning routine of making coffee & watching the news (I don't do that anymore these days) - nothing could interrupt my coffee time.

I also loved the social aspect of coffee - I loved going to my favorite coffee shop & spending the afternoon refilling my cup while I work. Over the years I drank less & less, but I still made sure I had my one cup of coffee at the minimum.

coffeememe3.jpg

[TMI Alert]

Just recently, I started noticing coffee just wasn't making me feel that great. I couldn't even make it through one cup of coffee before having to run to the bathroom. I was so addicted to the habit of drinking coffee that I still kept drinking it even though my stomach was telling me to stop. I finally made the conscious decision to quit coffee 2 1/2 weeks ago when I tried to go shopping & couldn't even make it through the store before having to run to the bathroom.

No thanks - not trying to live the kind of life where my day is scheduled around when I can make it to the bathroom.

2 Week Update

If you made it through the post this far, you're probably wondering how it's going? PRETTY DAMN GOOD. My stomach problems have disappeared & I have more energy than ever before. I'm not saying I won't ever have a cup of coffee again, but I can now confidently say that I don't NEED coffee & that feels amazing.

I'll admit - I'm still addicted to the habit of drinking something warm in the morning & this matcha latte recipe has been giving me LIFE. It's made in a blender instead of the traditional, bamboo whisk way, because I like to add other ingredients for extra energy. Let's get to it!

Lazy Matcha Latte

10.jpg

Ingredients

1 tsp stone ground matcha powder
6-8 oz hot water (almost boiling, but not quite)
1 T. of coconut butter (this is my not so secret ingredient - coconut butter adds fiber & contains medium-chain triglycerides that give you an extra boost of fat-burning energy)
1/2 cup of homemade hemp seed milk (or any milk of your choice)

I'm committed to go without coffee for 30 days! Anyone else crazy enough to join me?

image source - 1
(All photos are original & taken by me @lindseylambz)

Sort:  

@lindseylambz: Really? is that really possible to quit coffee? Never have i ever thought it was. Well I'm crazy but would be so lazy without it, so I might skip your challenge. But was a nice post, appreciate it.

Haha yes! If I can do it anyone can, trust me :)

Thanks for the matcha latte recipe! I've always wanted to make one of these :) I quit coffee too about two years ago. Stay strong, it's so worth it :)

Wow! 2 years! That's awesome. I'm feeling really good so far & I think I'll just keep going :)

I just love the taste of coffee and reduced it to 1 to 2 cups in the morning. Love Matcha lattes. They are a great alternative or dandelion mix works too! I'll try your combination. Thanks for sharing and well done on quitting the coffee habit. It's all about breaking routine and habits.

I love the taste too! And the smell. And everything about it haha but yes, it feels good to quit :)

i would give you some
i m drinking cofee while i m writting the comment
-_+

What about the side effects? did you have any headaches? Or maybe problem concentrating? Did it affect your mood?
I also have these stomach problems and it's making me go crazy.

Ah, great question! Since I didn't quit caffeine completely, my withdrawals weren't that bad. I had one headache in the afternoon during the first few days, but not as bad as I thought it was going to be. I tried quitting coffee & all caffeine before and I could barely make it past day 2.

That's why I love matcha - not only does it has half the amount of caffeine compared to coffee, but the caffeine is slowly released into your blood stream, unlike coffee where it happens all at once leaving you with a spike in insulin. The caffeine high in matcha just feels better, in my opinion. So I've essentially traded one source of caffeine for a less acidic, kinder one on my body - you should try it out!

That looks good and easy but I don't know if I'm ready to give up all my coffee. I know I drink too much but maybe just cut back to the one cup a day for me? I don't really have the stomach issues with it.

Yeah one cup of day is good! I can't say if coffee was the only culprit to my stomach issues, but it was definitely exasperated by coffee. I think I just needed a break from drinking it every day.

This looks pretty delicious! I really like the taste of Matcha but I am usually too lazy to make it the proper way. Thanks for the tip on how to enjoy it a little more simply. And great job giving up coffee!!

I'm not ready to give up coffee completely but this is a great way to replace a few cups of coffee here and there and cut back. Thanks for the idea!

mm i think it's great girl !!!
good luck for you @lindseylambz
and continue i support you...
i will be happy if you upvote my last post...
thanks..

Haha, I feel you. I also quit coffee a month ago.
Matcha lattes are a great replacement ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01