I Want To Can But I Have A Glass Top Stove

in #food7 years ago

I can and I have a glass top stove. Now I admit that I have canned on my stove but I was very uncomfortable the whole time. After putting a lot of thought into the problem and thinking it was best to consider the warnings, I found a solution. And in fact, my solution makes canning easier in my small kitchen.

I purchased the Cadco PCR-1S Professional Cast Iron Range, $134. at Amazon. 91IczM5B28L._AC_UL115_.jpg

I have an All American Pressure canner and when filled with food, jars and water plus the weight of the canner it becomes all I can lift. In choosing a hot plate I knew I need one the could handle the weight and I only needed one burner. The Cadco was the perfect answer. I have very little space to can and using the hot plate has made canning much easier. I have a cart with wheels. The cart is sturdy enough to hold the weight of my canner. I put the cart near my stove and it is easy to move the filled jars from the stove to the canner. The whole thing works extremely well. My Cadco is very sturdy and has held up to over 4 years of canning. If you have a similar problem you may be able to fine a less expensive hot plate but it must be sturdy and make sure it will work with aluminum.

I hope this gives you some ideas. Enjoy the fruits of your labor. Any questions please ask.

Sort:  

Hey @lindael great idea! I always used my glass top and risked it. LOL Looking back, probably not the wisest choice. We switched to an outdoor propane burner setup last year after building our outdoor kitchen.

Keep up the good work, and try to incorporate some of your own photos when possible. It'll do wonders for a post!

See you around!

Help a noob. Why is glasstop a bad idea?

The weight , the size of the pot and the high temperature can crack your top. With the price of a new top I do not feel it is worth the chance.

Can't fault you there. How heavy does a canning pot setup usually get?

I have never weigh one but a full canner is all I can lift so I expect 30 to 35 lbs. You have 7 qt jars with a pound or more of food in each one, the water about 3 to 4 qts. So the weight is part of the problem but the circumference of the canner can cause problems with uneven heat distribution. All canner companies will tell you not to can on a glass top.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39