Verde Vegan: A Review Revisited

in #food7 years ago

Last time I posted about Verde Vegan, I had not yet had the chance of eating the food or interacting with the charismatic owners.   While I have at this point had smoothies and good conversations at Verde Vegan, I still could not attest to the quality of the food for sure, as I had not eaten it.  So here it is Steemit, my new review of Verde Vegan now that I have tried a few things off of the menu!

This is just part of the menu, consider it a hand written specials board. The prices are all in pesos, not dollars.

An informative wall sharing the health details on many of the ingredients they use commonly at the restaurant.

A view of the menu, which we tried several things off.

One of the dry and canned goods shelves in Verde Pistache, the natural foods store attatched to the other half.

A shot of the store.

Refrigerated raw honey

Fancy, expensive eggs

While I can't say what type of muffin this was, I can say it was 35 pesos and pretty tasty. 

This is what's left of my favorite smoothie, featuring banana, peanut butter, cocoa nibs, cinnamon and some other things, mostly empty. It's called the Maniac if you ever find yourself at Verde Vegan.

@modprobe had vegan french toast, which he enjoyed.

John ordered a vegan lentil burger.

And some vegan tacos.

And I got gluten free pancakes.  My main complaint was not so much with the food but with the fact that I was already sick when I got there.  Unfortunately, my pancakes were really heavy on my stomach as a result, although they were tasty.  I tried John's burger too, which was not flavored how I expected but I found tasty.  Had I felt better, I probably would have consumed more. 


For anyone wondering, they do accept bitcoin and the employees actually know how to accept it which is really nice.  We tested this by paying with bitcoin, which was just as easy as paying with cash.  All in all it's a good experience that I recommend to anyone coming to Acapulco.  


Thanks for reading and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Those pictures look awfully familiar. On our first day in Acapulco I ate those tacos with a Maniac and my wife had that burger!

That's quite a coincidence!

Especially as those weren’t my first choices. I really wanted an Ultra (green smoothie) but the machine was broken, and the Enchiladas Suizas (with “potato cheese”) but it wasn’t an official menu item and whoever knew how to make it was manning the temporary Verde Vegan #2 at Anarchapulco.

They look delicious!

Why do they refrigerate the honey? Do people like it candied?

Not sure, possibly. It's just the one kind, there are several at room temperature.

Great impressions. I have one question though : why does a vegan store sell eggs and honey?Does not really fit.

It's not just a vegan store, that's more the restaurant than anything. The co-cop is more a general organics store than anything else.
The owners themselves are not vegan, just supportive of the diet and movement.

My thoughts exactly.

Great pictures! Good job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46