Adventures of an American Chef on the Run: Home Made Refried Beans!

in #food7 years ago

So I just shared how to cook beans, now for the fun part.  One of my favorite things about American style Mexican food is the thick and creamy refried beans.  For whatever reason, I've always had a soft spot for them.  When I found out how easy they were to make, well, let's just say I haven't looked back! I'll buy the canned stuff if I don't have time and absolutely have to, but I prefer them homemade any day if I've got the option.

So you've got your pot full of soft, cooked beans.  My blender is nice and lets me work with them hot, but for most people I suggest letting them cool until they aren't super hot anymore to reduce risk of damaging your blender.  Mine only costs 15 dollars, so it's pretty replaceable to take risks on.  

The fact that the container is glass helps with the hot, believe it or not.  Just fill it up and blend it up, make sure to add a good amount of juice too.

Put a little butter in a pan, I used like a tablespoon for a half kilo of beans, dry, so more once cooked.  Once it's melted a little, pour in the beans and cook on low heat, thickening and reducing. At first, the edges will be the only bits bubbling and drying, while the rest of it mounds and bubbles, releasing steam. 

Just keep heating, stirring thoroughly. When you do, use a utensil that you can scrape at the edges with without ruining the pan, I used my wooden spatula for this.  

I usually wait until the top dries, then I stir it around.  The bottom will be dried up, which is what you want.  Those dried bits will mix in and make it thicker, which makes it better.  That's the refried part, if you were wondering. 

Keep on cooking and stirring, texture is up to you. 

This is the edge where I wipe the spatula after stirring, as you can see it's thickening nicely.

I like it when it's about this consistency.  When you can expose a bit of the pan and it stays exposed, then it's nice and thick.  

I'll always have a soft spot for these, so the fact that I can make them here at home is a good thing.  Someone once told me that all you need to be happy is beans and tortillas. 

And today, I had both.

And I had some fresh Oaxaca cheese, look at those strings! 

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52