Adventures of an American Chef on the Run: Chocolate Candy Cookie Sandwiches with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

in #food8 years ago

I've always wanted to make something like this and today I finally did.  I bring you chocolate candy cookies with creamy chocolate cream cheese frosting.  The result was something that reminded me of both delicious cookies and cheesecake, which was delightful.  We had some community members over for a meeting and to have some dinner, which I ended by tempting everyone with these.  My guests all said they were really good and I think they're perfect for anyone that likes a big, sweet dessert.

Cookies: 

2 c flour

1 c brown sugar

5 c white sugar

3/4 c butter, melted

1 egg

1egg yolk

1 t vanilla

Frosting:

4 oz cream cheese

4 T butter

1.5 cup powdered sugar

1 t vanilla

1/4 c cocoa

Start by melting the butter for the cookies.

Add it into a large bowl with the sugars

And combine.

Add the eggs, beat to combine, add vanilla, do the same.

Add the flour, mix until just completed then add the chips or candies and do the same.

Drop them by spoonfuls on the pan, how big they are depends on you, I found recipes for tiny cookies or huge cookies.  Just adjust cooking time and temperature accordingly and make them even sized. Bake at 375 for 11-20 minutes depending on cookie size.

When they are done and have had a second to cool on the pan, remove them to a plate with a metal spatula.

Put the cream cheese and butter in a bowl.  I ended up halving the recipe to share, just because I ended up making roughly twice as much as I needed for the cookies.

Cream those together with a mixer, which is necessary to achieve proper texture.

At this point, add the sugar and cocoa sifted to remove lumps.

And blend to combine, add the vanilla and blend again.  It should look something like above in color and texture. Just spread an even amount over a cookie, top with another and they're done!

So these were good, really good.  One guest asked for one to take to his partner, and I've a feeling she enjoyed it very much.  I've taken a shift in my baking at this point.  When I was a kid I liked to bake but I always wanted to have all the results to myself, but at this point I want to share or sell most of it and keep little, which is interesting.  I still really enjoy baking and eating baked goods, but I just can't eat as much as I used to, which is fine and probably for the best. 

Thanks for reading, happy cooking.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49