Adventures of a Chef on the Run: Best Ever Instant Pot Flan con Cajeta

in #food7 years ago

I've found the ultimate fast and easy way to prepare flan, so long as one has an instant pot or pressure cooker. I just used the same recipe I've used in the past, adapting it for the processes for online articles I found on how to do this in the instant pot.  Some of them really weren't clear on the directions, so I figured it was worth posting my own version.

It's super easy to make, starting with a few tablespoons of cajeta in the bottom of whatever you're making the flan is.  What you use isn't really important so long as it easily fits in the instant pot.  I just used a small metal bowl.  

I used the immersion blender to combine the rest of the ingredients, which I poured over the cajeta. I set the instant pot on for 10 minutes with a ten minute natural release.  

It would seem that those ten minutes were not enough for my super thick flan, so I put it in for another ten.

And it looked like this while it was done.  Allow it to cool, then chill for a few hours before serving.  

This was hands down the richest, but best flan I've had.  There was no curdy egg texture, that flan sometimes can get.  It was the closest to texture to a cheese cake that I've experienced, which makes me understand why it's called the Mexican cheesecake. So give it a try if you've got an instant pot, and if you don't, you should get one!

Anyway, thanks for reading and supporting us, happy cooking. 

Sort:  

Would looooove to try this! Especially the ,"Proceed with caution" flavor from the secret menu. ;-)

You'll just have to come back soon then >:D

No! You used the f-word! Every time you say the word "flan" I'll mentally dub in "crème caramel", 'kay.
(I have a big problem with the word "flan". Bad associations. Bad. I'm sure it's just me.) Best crème caramel I've ever seen.

Why a problem with flan? :O and it was, so good.

I have the same issue with "patties" where I prefer to pretend someone said "fritters". There are just some words I have only negative associations with.

Is this an English thing? :P

Might be. But I'm sure it's not because of this:

I thought it was pot flan.

Bahahaha I could make it so :D

Me encanta el quesillo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57328.77
ETH 3111.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42