Veggies can be yummy!

in #food8 years ago

Today I am making a yummy braised cabbage! Please... don't discriminate! Cabbage is easy to grow and it doesn't all need to harvested at the same time, so you can have it fresh for weeks and weeks! My kids are so joyful about that...

Step 1.
Grow a cabbage and harvest it!

Don't forget to give some scraps to the chickens! They know what I'm up to and are always on the prowl!

Step 2.
Slice the cabbage and some onions and place in a pan with some hot oil. Cook for several minutes.

Step 3.
Add a hand full of peas. Cover and cook until just tender. Add some salt.

Step 4.
Buon appetito!!

Sort:  

Wow, you have a beautiful garden. Those chickens look so interested in your cabbage as well :P.

Thank you! I love my garden and get very happy when it produces something we can eat! The chooks are very spoiled, they follow me everywhere! Do you have a garden?

Yes, I garden too. In fact, yesterday I made a post on it if you want to check it out: https://steemit.com/gardening/@joeld/gardening-in-canada (I hope you don't mind me posting the link here!)

I really love gardening and eating all of the fresh produce. Nothing compares to home grown food. :)

Yes , Veggies can be Very yummy ;)

Looks yummy! I like making sauerkraut with fresh cabbage also.

Is that hard to make? I have never had it home made before! I bet its good!

I like my cabbage shredded up and deep fried like this:

It makes a nice topping for savory dishes.

source

Looks wonderful..... I have a bunch of savoy cabbage out there in the ground, this looks like a great option. Mostly I like to make big pots of mixed vegetable soup and pressure can it for winter and early spring eating during the garden hibernation period.... thanks, oc

I have never canned soup before. Is it difficult? I am lucky to have a freezer so I use the space to freeze veges, leftovers and herbs. I do make relishes, sauces, jams and dehydrated vegies. I was thinking about trying out a green house for the quiet garden stages and some delicate plants...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59