Veggies can be yummy....

in #food8 years ago

Mmmmm... more cauliflower! I love this recipe for three reasons....
1/ I have lots of cauliflower

2/ Its another Italian dish that I grew up with and it reminds me of my nonna. (who also grew lots of cauliflower!) It is called Cavolfiore fritto or.... fried cauliflower!

3/ My children always ask for more!

Its really simple to make and I serve it as a snack or a side dish with dinner. It can be served warm or cold.

Step 1/ Grow a cauliflower and be happy cos alot of effort actually goes into that!

Step 2/ Pay your daily ransom to the mafia....

Step 3/ Pick some herbs and head inside with your cauliflower. Collect these ingredients.

Step 4/ Make a batter by adding them into a mixing bowl.
3/4 cup plain flour
about 1 cup of water
1 1/2 tablespoons of cornflour
a few pinches of grated parmesan
some finely chopped parsley and sage.

Step 5/ Mix well and let the batter sit for 15 minutes. Meanwhile cut up the cauliflower into small florets.

Step 6/ Steam the cauliflower for about 5 minutes or until just tender if pierced with a knife. You don't want it to be too soft. When it is ready rinse it under cold water and put it aside.

Step 7/ When the cauliflower is cool to touch, heat up some oil in a pan and dip a piece of cauliflower into the batter.

Step 8/ Coat it with the batter and place into the heated oil. Repeat this with each piece and cook them in batches.

Step 9/ When they are nice and crisp they are ready! Place them on a plate with some paper towel.

Step 10/ When they are all cooked, season them with salt before serving.

Buon Appetito!!

Sort:  

Great! Veggies are awesome. I eat only veggies, fruit, nuts, seeds, fungus, etc. Get a lawn, grow food not lawns! Self-sufficiency all the way. Peace.

Yeah, I really enjoy growing what I can. It has been a few years now and I have learned alot and I look forward to being more self sufficient as the years go on! What fungus do you eat? What does that taste like? Thanks for the comment! I hope you try the recipe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43