Sunday Cook #13 Stewed meat with spaghetti - In memorie of my grandfather

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemian fellows!

This last Sunday Cook is a very special one for me.

Since a child I remember of eating this dish, it always comforts me. It was normal to us to have beef at our place because my grandparents used to raise cattle.

My grandpa, who deceive in the end of 2015, was a farmer for his entire life. Among other things he used to have one or two cows, he really liked to treat them every day​. He was a very good man!! He enjoyed the small pleasures in life, he didn´t need much to be happy. Wise man too!!

Well, one of his favorite dishes was this stewed meat with spaghetti. I also love this dish!
When I was younger I tried to became vegetarian..but it only lasted three months. I (re)started with beef raised by my grandpa and nowadays I try to have diversity on my dish.

Enough of a story...

This Sunday I cooked

Stewed meat with spaghetti

Ingredients

  • 1000 grams / (2,2 pounds) beef cut into cubes
  • 125 grams / (4,4 ounces) spaghetti
  • olive oil (to taste)
  • 2 medium onions
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • 5 medium ripe tomatoes
  • 1 bay leaf
  • one small chili pepper
  • sweet red pepper sauce (to taste)
  • black pepper and salt (to taste)
  • red wine

Preparation

  1. Unpeel and chop the onion and garlic cloves. Put them in a pan with olive oil and the bay leaf. Let it fry for about 5 minutes. Add the peeled tomatoes cut in small pieces, let it boil and cover with the pan lid to cook for 10 minutes. Add the meat cubes.
  2. Season with little salt, black and chili pepper, red wine. Stir, cover the pan, bring to low heat and cook about 1h30 minutes. Stir once in a while.
  3. When cooked, take the amount of meat you will need for one meal to a smaller pan. Cover it with water and season with salt and black pepper. Add the spaghetti and let it cook about 10 minutes.
  4. Turn off the heat, let stand with the pan covered about five minutes.

It's ready!! Let's serve it!!

This beef stew gets better in the day after (that's why I like to cook it in large quantities). We can serve the beef with spaghetti, but also with green cabbage (a healthier and also yummy version). It will be my supper tonight!

Ah, this stew meat gets tremendous with a glass of red wine!

I will come back with another Sunday cook delicious :D Stay tuned!!


What is Sunday Cook?!

These Sunday Cook project began with a strong will to contribute to Steemit with my personal view of Portuguese cuisine. I really believe we have plenty of good food. I'm not a professional or nothing similar, but I can assure that I'll do my best!

On Sundays, I like to prepare more elaborate and delicious food. It requires time and patient. Usually, I cook some traditional
Portuguese food, or at least with Portuguese inspiration :) I try to do it in a healthier way, using the minimum fat as possible, and normally I pick some recipe and transform it. During the week I don't like to spend much time cooking (no time at all), that's why I get totally motivated to cook on Sundays!!


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

@liliana.duarte, beautiful. And, I loved the story of seu avô. Fantastic post!

Thank you. I noticed i have a mispel word on the titlel, but i only can correct it after

Thanks, i can assure it is great!

You did a great job. This is a very cool post!

Thank you for your kind words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03