Strawberries season is just here - enjoy!

in #food7 years ago

Nowadays it's possible to buy strawberries during 12 month's/year, but they can't be compared to those we can find in the peak season (some might call it the more natural season). In Portugal, I always remind to have access to the best and sweetest strawberries during April and May months. I simply don't buy it in other epochs because they're are expensive and not tasting that great.

If you ask me how I choose strawberries...ah, well, I only have one basic trick.

Are they astonishingly aromatic? If they are...buy!(I also look for perfect strawberries)

In Portugal I recommend those ones grown in Almeirim, it's a small village close to Santarém (and Tagus river) that has incredible soils that grow amazing spring and summer fruits and vegetables!!

Nothing beats fresh, local berries!!

This last Sunday, when I wasn't expecting, I found a local producer selling its strawberries.
DSC_6807_ed.jpg

The aromas were quite well felt, but still, he offered us to try before buying.

Well, I got doubly convinced and bought the basket of the photos (3,300kg).
DSC_6803.JPG

This was a tremendous luck because it's difficult to find strawberries of this quality in local supermarkets. Maybe in the weekend local market, but even then...I'm not sure I could get it in Évora.

DSC_6804_ed.jpg

I also feel pleased to give my money directly to the people who worked to produce this amazing, marvelous, exquisite piece of fruit!

I had some today at breakfast, look how gorgeous they are!!

DSC_6820_ed.jpg

Notice how red they are inside....wow!

DSC_6824.JPG

Wish their aroma could be shared too!!

DSC_6822.JPG

Hope you enjoyed it, have a nice day!!

Sort:  

They look so good, we have to wait 2 more months before ours are ready.

It will pass fast, you'll see!! In two months we'll not have many strawberries left but I don't mind...June is time of cherries :))
Where are you from (curiosity)?

Hi, I am from western, N.Y. outside Rochester. June is strawberries and sweet cherries then the sour ones come in. Time to get the veggie gardens going here soon. The seedlings in the greenhouse are growing quickly now.
Nice to meet you here!

Nice to meet you too!! You cultivate your own veggies?? How nice. Wish I could have it in my life too, maybe one day! Happy gardening :)

I have surrounded my home with flowers and vegetable gardens, berries and love growing as much as I can for my family.

It seems perfect!! :)

mmmmmh where exactly did you get them?

In a garage close to the restaurants that are near the bullfight arena of Almeirim. It was our first time, I have no idea if he's there everyday (I suppose​ he or his wife is) :))

Boas, compras os morangos na senhora ao pé da fabrica da CocaCola em Brejos de Azeitão? As caixas são iguais.

Estes foram comprados mesmo em Almeirim. As caixas do que percebi vêm algures da Marinha Grande.
Nunca comprei fruta para esses lados, porque é muito raro passar, mas aquelas pessoas que vendem fruta na estarda de Fernão Ferro para Sesimbra sempre me suscitaram muito interesse ;)

Por acaso nunca comprei ai nessa estrada, mas já vi várias vezes!

Hey @liliana.duarte! I love this post!! Hahah.. I moved to Portugal about a year ago and man if it's one thing I love it's all the amazing berries ( mainly strawberries)! These days I go to the supermarket every other day to pick up a new basket. :) Upvoted and followed!! :)

Nice to hear!! Hope you're enjoying our country​!! My strawberries are finishing now! In a month or 2 will have cherries, look for those from Fundão, Gardunha or Resende!! Amazing :))

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.34 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45