Going to a nearby Ramadan bazaar

in #food5 years ago

Wew! Another busy week...I guess everyone guessed it looking at the recent activity on my blog, but I will still dig time out to write things as well as do things to relax myself :) Here, take a rare daily life blog from me.

Malaysians will know what's the time of the year again...yes, the Ramadan month is here! Due to being sick of the horrible food in the school canteens, my friends decided to visit the nearby Ramadan bazaar and see if there are amazing things there. I just tagged along, because why not?

We hopped in the car immediately right after class ends and I guess we arrived a little too early (4pm) ...not all stalls are there yet and the street is pretty much empty!

IMG_20190507_160738.jpg

Yes...we're the only crazy ones to walk under the sun hunting for food at 4pm.

Despite being a Malaysian for that long, I actually never went to a Ramadan bazaar before so it's a first-time experience for me. Part of that is because I grew up in a place with majority of the population as Chinese, and my grandparents aren't really fond of non-Chinese cuisine...so it's a whole lot of TILs for me!

IMG_20190507_161507.jpg

Lots of cakes (which a majority of them I never knew what they were called...), and Penang laksa in bags. Gotta say that it's quite an interesting way to sell them in this packaging, never saw them sold like this :)

IMG_20190507_162134.jpg

Spicy stuff. Curry fish. I can't tell when's the last time I had fish ever since coming back to campus so I can't help myself but just got them here. No disappoints though, they taste amazing. Especially the anchovies with rempah and petai. Too bad I actually finished them before taking any photos, hehe.

Then we have this...

IMG_20190507_161126.jpg

Dear friends, it's called samosa, not "curry puff prototypes". Some genius friend came up with this temporary name when we realized that no one remembers what it is called, and for some reason we all started using calling them as "prototypes"...heck, it's not even close to a curry puff. Featuring a more crispy skin, a bigger size, more meat inside them (and removing the potatoes), my friends loved it. I didn't try it though, but hearing the sound of their teeth crushing the thing, I guess it's good!


It's pretty enjoyable, reminding me of the super days of going to the night market, except that it isn't night this time :) We actually went for a second run just two days ago and I tried the murtabak (stuffed pancake) with cheese and chicken, which managed to blow my mind on how tasty something can be...really, I ran out of words on it but you know, good food is everywhere, it's just a matter of knowing it or not.

That's all for now then! See you around.

--Lilacse


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Oh, we get samosas here... and they are so much better than curry puffs! I think it is because of the Dutch/Indonesia connection. I never had it before coming here.. in Australia, it was always the curry puffs (my mum would also make them...).

I never knew that there's a relationship between Indonesia and the Dutch...bless my history knowledge (just googled it...). I don't think I saw curry puffs during my last visit to Australia though, maybe they aren't as common as here :P

Haha.. the Dutch were your imperial overlords for a while!

We also have the pure Durban/Indian type of Samoosas over here, hot and spicy. Then we also have a food called Bunny Chow. It is basically a half a bread hollowed out and filled with Lamb curry. Delicious!
Blessings!

It seems that there are more variations of that around the world! We also have something like that Bunny Chow, which is practically bread baked to look like a huge mushroom, with its trunk and top emptied, and filled with curry :) Lamb curry isn't that common here, but I guess it will taste good with it!

Maybe what we have here is also a variation of yours! :P

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

Thanks for the cake! <3

I agree, if you search - you can always find it! Thanks for the story)

(Yes, I said so but I'm still trying to find legit good food in my school compound... although I did found some secret nice combination that I can order in the noodle store...hehe)

Happy to know you liked it! :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 110 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I think your AI algorithm is...interesting :)

Most of that looks delicious. I usually eat samosa as an appetizer or snacking when I go to a restaurant that sells this food.

So they can also work as an appetizer... that's new to me!

Just went to one just now to tapao dinner with @roselifecoach... Yummmy...

Yeah...we almost went for third round just now but we realized that we don't have a vehicle this time :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82