Tonights Forecast. Tomato Rain With A Chance Of Drying Out.

in #food7 years ago

20170816_151207.jpg

It was raining tomatoes, they were ripening everywhere. And there was so many more behind them getting ready to ripen. I have lovingly tended to their every need, I just can't bear to have them spoil now. But how in the world will I eat this many?

Enter Dehydrator!!!! Yay!!!

I decided to pick and pick and dehydrate them for when I miss the tomato rain.

20170816_120955.jpg

20170816_120933.jpg

20170816_142441.jpg

I gathered several bowls of tomatoes and some basil and oregano from the garden. It was time to start processing!

20170816_151225.jpg

20170816_161435.jpg

20170816_151210.jpg

Then it was time to add the basil and oregano.

20170816_162650.jpg

After a long time of cutting tomatoes I now get to ignore it and let it dehydrate.

20170818_093841.jpg

Now I had to do the taste test, they were so good! Tangy, a really sharp flavor. So good I can't wait to put them in a salad.
I filled a mason jar and two small bags. The two small bags I added nutritional yeast, salt and a little bit of avocado oil. It tasted like pizza! I had it in a salad last night and it was amazing. I'm so glad because its time to pick tomatoes again!

Thanks for reading! If you liked this post lets be friends and follow me.
Big Love.

Sort:  

Mmmm. What time shall we all show up for the eating party? :-)

Hahaha! Thank you @lisettedavy, I'm glad you looked at my blog!

LOL.... your title is great, I love your wit.

Oh my, I want a dehydrator so bad, I still use the screen method in the sun and takes for ever.

It tastes really good being dried from the sun! We get to much fog for sun drying, not to mention the shade from our trees. Thanks for liking my silliness @mamadini!

It's a short window here, but I get a lot done in that time. Your silliness is witty, I love that. :)

Thanks @mamadini, it is nice to have someone appreciate it :)

Impressive haul! Awesome way to save a hefty harvest!

Thanks @aunt-deb! It was an undertaking. The dried tomatoes are wonderful though so I'm going to do this through out the harvest. Thank you for reading my post!

A steemer after my own heart, love to see those tomatoes!

Thank you @jed78! There is not a whole lot of things in life as good as a garden fresh tomato ripened in the sun. Thanks for reading, hope your having a great day.

True that, I miss my tomato empire, maybe it will rise again!

Great use of surplus tomatoes! Sundried tomatoes are good in so many dishes!!

Thanks @jaymorebeet! I bet you have a wonderful recipes for them! Let me know if you post one on your awesome food blog.

I was actually just thinking of an idea- dug up my first potatoes recently and I want to try to make gnocchi and use sundried tomatoes in the sauce- gotta think about it more but they harvest around the same time so nature just must intend for us to eat them together too right? (Potatoes and tomatoes, that is). ;)

Sounds so good, and yes things that are in season together do seem to taste good together. I hope you do that post.

That's a great idea! I do actually have a very sunny spot - I should try sun-drying ours. I haven't done drying yet, just canning.

Try it! Really satisfying being able to store your produce and use it for a wintery day.

Thank you for reading my post!

Hi i like your post upvoted your post hope you will like my posts and will upvote my posts as your true follower

Thanks for the post and idea of drying out tomatoes! My garden is going crazy right now. How long did it take you to completely dry them?

It took me about 8 hours to get the yummy chewy texture I liked and no wet spots. Make sure you dry them with the skin side down or it will trap the moisture you are trying to get rid of. Yay crazy tomato plants! Try it! It is so good and nice to have tomatoes from your garden all year round. Thank you for reading @fivepoints!

Thank you @karja, I'm so glad you stopped to read my blog.

You're on fire!

hi @genova , can you please stop making this comments. I don't like it, it is abuse. of my account. Will be down voted.

They look delicious. I have never used a dehydrator before - is it fairly straightforward? Are they expensive?

It is very straightforward, just a lot of prep work. The dehydrator I have was a expensive but is one of my favorite pieces of equipment on the farm. I use it all the time with gangbuster crops like the tomatoes and apples. I make most of my Christmas presents with it. Dried lemons and power bars. I have a nine tray Excalibur. I did a lot of research to find the perfect one, and this one is the best. The Excalibur doesn't have any other competition on the market that I saw. They are anywhere between 150 to 300 depending on the timer you want it to have. Thanks for reading, if you have any more questions ask.

Congratulations @lifemovedbysteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65927.86
ETH 3481.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66