Sourdough bread just out of the oven

in #food8 years ago (edited)

I made this bread with a starter I made 3 years ago using a handful  of grapes from a friends yard. I pressed the juice out with a fork and strained it. Then left it sitting in a bowl  for a few days until it started fermenting. I then added water and flour and let that sit until it started raising. I feed the starter every week.

This loaf is made with 3/4 wholewheat. If there is interest I will take more photos and write down the recipe next time I bake.

I also make sourdough rye bread with a starter that was started several hundred years ago.


For information about the health benefits of sourdough bread please take a look at the folloving link:

http://www.sourdough.co.uk/why-is-it-that-i-can-digest-sourdough-bread-and-not-commercial-bread/


Sort:  

Wow, where did you get starter from several hundred years ago???

I once tasted some sake that was more than 100 years old... I must confess that it tasted terrible, but it was a unique experience. ;) That was long ago, and perhaps my palate is more refined now. :)

The rye bread sourdough starter was originally made at a farm in Jutland, Denmark. I got it from a relative and have kept it goring for over 30 years now.
Every time I make rye bread I dissolve about 1/4 cup of sourdough (taken aside from previous batch) in water. I then add whole grain rye flour. 12 hours later I take about 1/4 cup of the dough and put in a jar an place in fridge. That is my starter for next time I bake. You can see how it is kept fresh. I bake every 2-5 weeks.

That is so amazing to me! I wish I had learned some of these "old technologies." Thank you for writing about this, and for explaining a bit more for me how it works. ;) :)

You are welcome. Stay tuned for full story with images and recipe.

Of course we want more photos! :) My roommates and I have been wanting to start a sourdough culture and get baking.

I am very interested in this recipe. Please send recipe and a loaf of bread to:
I eat bread
444 east 4th
Big Loaf, OR :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30