How to get a good cup of coffee, the longer version

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I started drinking coffee when I had my first night shift  and could not stay awake.

Since then I have enjoyed daily coffee except when i was pregnant with my son and it suddenly tasted horrible.

I had coffee on my travels in Europe, India and Thailand but my real appreciation of coffee came during my travels in areas where some of the worlds great coffee is grown.  The island of Sumatra is where I first saw coffee plantations. The landscape was so beautiful I will never forget.

That is me long time ago in Java.

 These days I don't travel as much so I have found a way of having great Sumatran coffee at an affordable cost.

I roast at home now.

I roast one pound at the time.

I use a drum roaster. I started out with an air roaster.

I prefer to make drip coffee but also make espresso or french press when I'm in the mood

All photos are by me.


How do you like your coffee and has travel changed your ways?

Sort:  

We travel perpetually, and one of our traveling traditions is stopping at a local coffee shop. We love to make and roast our own coffee when we can but this is a challenge while on the road. Our favorite coffee shop in the world is in New Zealand. It's called Fix. They have the best mocha's :-)

I will put Fix on my list . i love New Zealand!

We love New Zealand! We have spent most of our time in Rotorua, where Fix is located. We love the friendly kiwis and the scenery is amazing! Let us know when you try it. We want to know what you think :-)

I will. I had a great time in Rotorua. Love the hot springs!

I used to buy Sumatran coffee in Belgium... Cambodia sadly hasn't many options when it comes to coffee... Great post and I hope we get to visit Sumatra too one day!

Nice photos! It's great that you roast it at home. I love to drink a good cup of hot coffee every morning! Thanks for sharing! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.35
ETH 2676.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90