A Taste Of Korea

in #food6 years ago

IMG_20180316_141833_093.jpg

Nowadays Korean culture is taking the world by storm! From K-pop music, Korean dramas to Korean inspired make up and clothing style. Even the Korean cuisine isn't left behind. There food is famously known to be on the spicier side. So, if you're a big fan of Korean culture and spicy food then this will really hit the spot!😉

IMG_20180316_141833_124.jpg

Today was a hot day in Cebu but surprisingly enough, my tastebuds also wanted to feel some heat. What better way to treat my cravings than to visit one of my go to Korean restaurants (Pearl Meatshop). This place is quite popular, specially for students and young adults for it is affordable and they have alot of unlimited side dishes.😍

IMG_20180316_141833_128.jpg

Ofcourse, no Korean dining experience would be complete without Kimchi! If you haven't tried Kimchi yet, you will be very surprised when you take your first bite, I know I was! The texture is crunchy and the heat immediately grabs your tastebuds! Some of my friends told me that when they first tried kimchi, the taste reminded them of wet socks! Hahaha I know, what a strange description😅. But don't worry, everyone I know including me, has grown to love the unique flavor of this popular side dish! Ohhh and did I meantion that this was unlimited?😄

IMG_20180316_145850.jpg

I'm not really sure what this dish is called, all I know is this tastes delish and it's also unlimited😄. It's very crunchy and refreshing. A good palate cleanser when you ate too much oil or grease from the other dishes.

IMG_20180316_141833_127.jpg

Now, this is what I came for! This soup has been calling my name for days now. It is called "Soondubu Jjibae". Usually made of tofu, ground beef or pork, various spices and vegetables. If you like your soups to really hit you, I highly suggest you try this one out! Ofcourse it's spicy but it also has a savory taste that I just can't get enough of. My favorite Korean soup, no doubt!😋

IMG_20180316_141833_093.jpg

If your a fan of Korean dramas, then I'm pretty sure you have seen your favorite Korean actors and actresses devour this! This is probably the most popular main dish that they have. It is called "Samgyeopsal". Thin slices of pork meat with just the right amount of fat in it to make the taste explosive! I know, how can a simple cut of meat taste that good? That was also my first question when I tried it for the first time. But trust me, there is just something magical about this dish. Samgyeopsal is usually grilled so it has a deep, smokey flavor that is just iresistable! Koreans usually eat this with lettuce, garlic, kimchi and sometimes a bit of rice then they make it into a wrap. I tried doing it that way but I still prefer eating it the Filipino way (with rice)😁

I'm glad to share my food adventures with you guys and hopefully brighten someones day.☀

"Food is our common ground, a universal experience"

xo
Kylie💫

Sort:  

It really is! Thanks for commenting😊

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

I love Korean food :)

Who doesn't right? Thanks for dropping by😊

Kalami ani Kylie uiiii... ٩(♡ε♡ )۶ Mas nice ni ikaon with your "oppa" by your side... chos!

Hahahaha shodi pa olark ses!😂

Kaon nya tah ninyu ani with @arashikawaii puhon. Naa raman pud si Robi😊

Great pictures @kylietorres. You make me wish I was in Korea again! Cheers

Wow you're lucky you have been there before! Thank you so much for dropping by😊

Congratulations @kylietorres! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58