CHAOS cook KusaTsuri *8: Lentils and rice!!!

in #food6 years ago

Do you know what I really like to eat after a good workout, especially after swimming?

Yes, lentils or/and rice!!!

Of course I don't eat it right away. Until I am home from swimming and finished cooking already 2 hours can pass...
But for those who think that protein is only in meat... here the perfect example for a vegan/vegetarian protein meal: lentils!

IMG_1784.JPG

Let's get started. The used ingredients:

IMG_1735.JPG

  • 100g carrots
  • 2 shallots
  • 100-200g Brussels sprout
  • 4 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 4 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 800ml vegetable stock
  • 200g lentils
  • 400g chopped tomatoes
  • thyme
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 100-150g rice

Again we start with some chopping! Cut all the carrots in small cubes. Take the Brussels sprout and quarter them. Preheat the pan and fry both vegetables on low heat. Add the four tablespoons of tomato paste and vinegar. Mix everything fine! Slowly add the vegetable stock until there is none of it left. Now add all the lentils. I used some mountain lentils but you can choose also different kinds like yellow or red once.

cut carrots and Brussel sprout

adding tomato paste and vinegar

slowly adding vegetable stock

adding all the lentils

And the 400g chopped tomatoes. You can buy already chopped once in a can or do it yourself with fresh tomatoes. Add the chopped shallots. You can also fry them with the Brussels sprout and the carrots if you want. I just forgot them earlier so I am adding them right now.

adding chopped tomatoes

adding shopped shallots

Add some thyme and salt and let everything cook on medium heat for about 30 minutes. Until the lentils are done. Meanwhile you can start preparing the rice as it says on the package. I had to cook my basmati rice for around 10 minutes. Don't forget the salt!

season it and let it cook for ~ 30 min

cooking rice for ~10 min

And yes this is it. Put together the rise and your lentils sauce and you are done! Hopefully you will love the taste 😉

1.jpg


Some tips and suggestions:

  1. Fry the shallots with the other vegetables and don't forget them like I did ^^
  2. You can put curcuma in the rice water so they will absorb the taste.
  3. Instead of rise you can try out the traditional German spaetzle (some sort of pasta), but of course the self-made vegan one 😉


The only thing left is to wish you a Bon Appétit!!! And...
If you like/liked it you are welcome to upvote and follow for some more food, travel or special blogs 😉 Also feel free to leave a comment below no matter if it is a suggestion, criticism or a compliment!



Unbenannt.JPG

Sort:  

It looks very good, really! I love the texture! this kind of food it's what I would have right now if I could :xx even if it's 1 a.m. haha

Thank you very much :D
Hahaha I love to eat at 1 a.m. ;)

Tell me about it :)))))

I love hot food. :-)
You are included in my "Food By Red Fish" post. Check it out!

Wow thank you a lot!!!!! I am feeling really honored!!!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68123.51
ETH 3488.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72