Apple Pie Dutch Baby Video Tutorial

in #food6 years ago


If you’ve never had a Dutch baby, drop everything you’re doing and go make one! These fluffy, and irresistibly chewy breakfast treats should (and can be) enjoyed at any time of the day.

Without a word of a lie, I’ve made a Dutch baby after 2AM before, and there were no regrets. To spice things up (literally, I added cinnamon 😝) I tossed in some green apples that I caramelized in some brown sugar, cinnamon, and butter. I needed to have my boyfriend physically remove it from my reach, in fear I’d consume the entire thing myself, and I don’t even care for apple-based desserts! Give this a try, it’s an amazing treat, breakfast idea, or snack. Anything, seriously, just find an excuse to make this and you will not regret it!

Enjoy!

Apple Pie Dutch Baby Pancake Recipe

Course: Breakfast, Dessert
Cuisine: Dutch, German

Ingredients:
Dutch Baby
1 cup milk (room temperature)
4 large eggs (room temperature
)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup white sugar
1 tbsp vanilla extract (or paste)
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp melted butter
2 tbsp clarified butter*
1 Confectioners sugar to taste (optional)

Apple mixture:
1 green apple peeled and cubed
3 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp butter
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp pecans, chopped (optional)

Servings:
4

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C)
  • In medium skillet melt 1 tbsp butter over medium heat.
  • Add in apple, brown sugar, cinnamon and vanilla. Cook until softened.
  • Stir in pecans, and remove from heat.
  • Into a blender add room temperature milk, room temperature eggs, flour, sugar, salt, vanilla, and melted butter.
  • Blend on high until batter is smooth.
  • Heat 10-inch oven-safe skillet over high heat until hot.
  • Add clarified butter until bubbling.
  • Once bubbling, pour batter into the skillet and spoon in apple mixture.
  • Transfer to oven to bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until puffed up and golden.
  • Top with powdered sugar or desired toppings and serve.

Recipe Notes:
*To speed up process, microwave milk for 10 second increments and leave whole eggs in bowl with hot water for several minutes before cracking.

  • To clarify butter microwave a stick of butter until melted, scoop off foam with a spoon and keep only clear liquid. Discard milky substance at bottom. Removing the milk solids from butter and “clarifying” it prevents burning and raises the smoke point.

Don't forget to subscribe to my DTube channel, if you'd like to see more recipes like this in in the future.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Your post is really great. I found it awesome. I like it. Thanks for sharing with us.

Dutch babies are my favorite dessert!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36