Think you could never give up meat? It's easier than it seems!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Hi, everyone!

Today I am sharing a "meatlessmeal" photo of some tasty vegan chili. Dinners like these make skipping out on meat all the more easier! Did you have a plant-based meal this week?

IMG_2800.jpg

I wanted to give a little encouragement for some of you today. You know, if you scroll to the bottom of my Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/kristennicolerogers/), you'll see pictures of meat.. what? On a vegan's instagram? Yes!

In the last year I've wondered whether to delete those photos but I decided to keep them for two reasons:

  1. It's a part of my past, &
  2. It shows that I didn't always know what I do now (in regards to health and animal agriculture) & that I never thought I would/could go vegan!

So many people say to me things like, "But I love chicken wings too much," and "I could never give up cheese." But guess what, the majority of people who're vegan once said the same thing before they made the switch!

My advice is, don't be afraid to start out slow - you can go cold turkey or make small decisions day by day to get where you want to be with your diet. Maybe start increasing the amount of sides on your plate, and lessening the meat every day :) Then one day you'll look up and realize you don't even miss it!

Ingredients used in this chili are as follows:
• Black beans
• Kidney beans
• Corn
• Carrots
• Green onions
• Tomato paste
• Chopped tomatoes
• Yellow onions
• Vegetable broth
• Garlic and onion powder
• Chili powder
• Oregano
• Vegan cashew sour cream

(... all plant-based, healthy and delicious!)

Sort:  

Congratulations @kristenrogers! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kristenrogers! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84