Vegan Red Lentil Soup w/ Spinach

in #food6 years ago

619A3045.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup red lentils;
  • 1/2 cup chopped carrots;
  • 1 13 oz can roasted tomatoes;
  • 1 13 oz can coconut milk;
  • 4 cloves garlic;
  • 1 medium onion;
  • 2 cups water or veggie broth;
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger;
  • 2 teaspoons Garam Masala;
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper;
  • salt and pepper to taste;
  • fresh spinach leaves for serving.

619A3060.jpg

Directions:

  1. Heat cooking oil in a medium sauce pan, add in chopped onion, garlic and carrots. Cook until the onion is translucent, then add in ground ginger, garam masala and cayenne pepper, cook for about a minute.

  2. Then add in the lentils and tomatoes, water or vegetable broth and coconut milk. Salt and pepper the soup.

  3. Bring the soup to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer for about 25 minutes.
    Top it off with fresh spinach leaves and enjoy!

619A3050.jpg
619A3055.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF 24-105mm - F/4 lens.

kotturinn-2.png
artwork by kookyan

Sort:  

Did you buy this at SoDoSoPa?!

Maybe whole foods@sodosopa!

Hahaha! Nothing in this recipe came from Whole Foods, it should though! Do I get Amazon gift cards for promoting WF?

Hahaha! You know me 😉

Отличный рецепт. Я сама очень люблю шпинат. Ты - хорошая хозяйка, дорогая! Да и чечевица весьма полезна для нашего организма.
А фотографии как всегда замечательные!


Great recipe. I like spinach very much myself. You're a good hostess, darling! And lentils are very useful for our body.
And the photos are as always wonderful!

Thank you kindly!

The soup turned out pretty good, it was the first time I cooked lentils though. I had some stored in my cabinet for like a year hahaha

Yum. Nearly winter here.. well, not quite as it's 30 degrees tomorrow.. but I'm dying for winter lentil soup..

Posted using Partiko Android

You should eat it with air conditioner on haha bring winter into your home haha, just kidding!

Thank you!

I love lentils and this soup looks delicious! I will definitely be making this now that the cooler weather is just around the corner.

I thought it was pretty good and it was my first time cooking lentils too!

Thanks!

Интересный рецепт! Спасибо что поделились!

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84