Steemit Culinary Challenge #31 - Mixed Fruit and Veggie Salad with tiger kitty

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Another week, another challenge! Hey there, Steemians!


So thanks to our dear @amy-goodrich all of us are cooking vegan for once! Nice!
I wasn't really sure what to prepare for the challenge because I am not very familiar with vegan dishes, but I did have a bunch of greens and veggies in my fridge! So this time I am going to make a fruit/veggie salad, I don't think I've ever put a salad entry for the challenge before too.

Originally I thought about steaming some quinoa to add to my dish, but I changed my mind. I really need to see what I can eat it with other than rice or by itself, recommendations would be nice!

Okay, let us get to this salad without a name yet!


Ingredients:

  • 1 apricot;
  • 1 roma tomato;
  • 2 radishes;
  • a half of avocado;
  • 2 handfuls mixed greens;
  • salt and pepper to taste;
  • a quarter of red bell pepper;
  • a pinch of flax seeds (optional)
  • a teaspoon of almond slices (optional)
  • lime juice and extra virgin olive oil for dressing.


Preparation:

Slice and dice and chop all of the ingredients into your favorite geometric shapes, add the olive oil, lime juice, salt and pepper, toss and serve.

I am a big fan of salads, especially during the summer time because I feel like it's the season to get loaded with vitamins and there's nothing better than the way fruits and veggies smell and taste during this time.

Enjoy this last minute recipe, you guys, as always feel free to modify it according to your taste. And don't forget to sprinkle some nuts and seeds over it :)



Overall I was pretty happy with the way this salad turned out, both @matt-a and @robrigo ate it, and I think they liked it haha (based on empty plates)! I hope @amy-goodrich likes it too, gonna keep my fingers crossed!

I assume a lot of you guys are wondering where that alien fork came from?! Me and my husband @matt-a got it from a Second Hand store in Vienna, Austria a few years ago.
It was pretty cold for October there when we visited so we were happy to at least check out some shops instead of roaming the streets, which we did plenty too haha.

And as always I would like to thank everyone who makes this fun challenge possible, our fantastic host @woman-onthe-wing, our awesome and generous sponsors @smooth and @sirwinchester and everyone who keeps taking part and sharing their cooking secrets :) I hope all of you guys have a great week ahead!

And as promised here is a picture of my cat Artax


Sort:  

SALAD WAS GOOD. Like A+. WANT MORE!!!

And all this time I thought you were allergic to healthy food....

Huhhh?! I'm one of the biggest health food freaks you will ever meet! Always been like that. Extremely picky as to what I eat! You must have me confused with someone else!

Lol. You can't deny your love for unhealthy foods

About the unhealthiest thing I eat is pizza and even then I like it to be of the "healthy," variety. I only eat poultry and fish when it comes to meats and am really weird about additives and stuff like that.

You ate the eku food man. It's too late for you I'm afraid. The poison is already in you

Only when I had to! And when I could buy meals off of you hahaha

I really love salads and this one looks just great ! Good lucky in the challenge :)

Thanks a lot! You should post something too! I haven't seen you take part in the challenge recently!

Very busy this days ...... i will join in first chance :)

Hope to see your recipes soon, your food is always great!

Nice presentation. You STAY killin it girl.
That fork is out of this world! You guys should build a forge, make a mold, and send me one. haha

Thanks Jesse!! Maybe we should start anew alien utensils company? Haha

Now that's an idea!!

Exactly! Something to think about haha

yes kickstarter for forks!! the salad looks really good too of course!

Thank you @drpuffnstuff, always super nice :)

Wow what a super salad ^.^ I want to try this !

Make it and post pics! I'll definitely upvote.

Thanks! You should try it!

Wow nice share:)
I'm following you and upvoted
I'm introducing korea food and culture.
If you interested in this topic, you visit my steemit :) have a good day

Thank you! I will gladly check out your blog!

Wow...fresh salad ! I need some for my lunch :) nice pictures and unique fork 😃

We got that fork at a second hand store in Austria by Freud's house! 50 euro cents!

Haha,who found the bargain?

I think that @kotturinn spotted it, and I sealed the deal with the 50 Euro cents haha.

Great team work , good on you two!:)@kotturinn

It's look really taste good.
I will also update some food and health information, could you have a look and follow me? Thanks so much.

Thanks! I'll check you out :)

Thank you so much. I will follow you too.

It looks fresh. Fork of course cool. But the cat is the best))) It looks very tasty. Good luck

Thank you @shady! Aren't cats just the best, do you have any pets?

Looks yummy
wanna go through the screen and catch it lol

Hahaha! Thank you! I tried to make it look nice!

grats
It really looks awesome

Congratulations @kotturinn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87