Roasted Red Pepper & Garlic Hummus

in #food6 years ago

619A8009.jpg

Hummus is one of my favorite dips, I like it with veggies or chicken, pita bread, cracker cookies, I could probably even eat by itself!
Every time I buy some chickpeas I can't resist but make some hummus. Up until today I would only use dry chickpeas for my dip just because I always felt like reserving some extra chickpeas to make falafel later, this time around I was like, I am gonna use the canned ones, and to be completely honest with you guys, I think that canned chickpeas are the way to go, I still love hummus made of home cooked chickpeas, don't get me wrong, but there's something about the way they preserve the garbanzos in cans I guess? There's something about that I like :D.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (450g) can chickpeas;
  • half of a roasted red bell pepper;
  • 4 roasted garlic cloves;
  • salt and pepper to taste;
  • half tea spoon ground coriander;
  • half teaspoon ground cumin;
  • a pinch of light chili powder;
  • 1 table spoon tahini paste;
  • 50 ml lemon juice;
  • 50 ml extra virgin olive oil.

619A8017.jpg

Ingredients for garnish:

  • extra virgin olive oil;
  • flax seeds;
  • roasted pumpkin seeds;
  • smoked paprika;
  • ground turmeric;
  • fresh cilantro (chopped).

619A8013.jpg

Method:

Just like any dip I'd assume this one is extremely easy to make, place all of the ingredients into your food processor and pulse until they turn into a smooth paste.
Top with whatever garnish you please and enjoy! I had some Italian spice flat breads around, they worked :D!

619A8021.jpg
619A8015.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF - 50mm - F/1.8 lens.


Sort:  

Love anything with roasted bell peppers... hummus sounds amazing! Bookmarked!

It's quite simple and looks delicious :) upvoted and follow

I have made my own also, and the can ones are softer because they are soaked longer and may have other crap in them like salt. I generally just soaked my garbanzos overnight, then changed the water and let them soak some more. I am glad you shared your post!

That is what I used to do, but I wanted to try the canned ones as well. Thanks!

Yummy
Can I have some when anyone tries?

Sure :D

Thank you!

It looks amazingly yammy!

Looks really yammy. Thanks for the recipe!

amazing looks really tasty thanks for giving us the ingredients

No problem! Thanks!

Gaahh hummus.... it's my favourite food of all foods... I could eat it all day every day... :D

I could too, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55