Natural Easter Egg Dye from Blueberries

in #food6 years ago

619A8672.jpg

Easter is around the corner and what Easter is without the eggs? Coloring them is probably one of my favorite things about this holiday ever since I was a child.
Usually I would just get egg dye from a store and be happy with that, but recently I came across an article that talks about different natural dyes you can use to color your eggs, it is called How to Make Natural Easter Egg Dye from Ingredients in Your Kitchen. Check it out to learn about different foods you can use, other than blueberries of course!

Even though the color is not as deep as blueberries are, I loved the shade of blue that came out. Here's what you're going to need to make this natural dye:

  • 1 cup blueberries;
  • 1 cup water;
  • a pinch of salt;
  • 2 table spoons white vinegar.

619A8662.jpg

Method:

Using a blender process the berries, pour the mixture into a saucepan, add water, salt and vinegar, bring to a simmer and cook for about 10 minutes. Even though the article I read said to strain the dye, I didn't feel like doing it and I let the boiled eggs sit in a jar with the dye for approximately 18-20 hours in the fridge.
Surprisingly, the eggs didn't taste like blueberries or vinegar at all, I would give this dye 10/10 regardless of the colors not being vibrant, I am really digging them :D.

619A8650.jpg
619A8657.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF - 50mm - F/1.8 lens.


Sort:  

красивые)
а у вас пасха раньше что ли?

Спасибо, да, у нас в прошлые выходные была хаха

Great picture! I like it 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be a nice gesture to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

Oh, cool. I know that blueberries can leave a heavy stain on things, as they've dyed my skin to the extent that I had to wash my hands like 7 times for it to go away. But, I never thought about using them for dye on eggs, haha. I think they came out looking pretty neat!

Yeah, I was surprised to learn that you can make egg dyes out of them too! Pretty cool! Of course, I wouldn't buy blueberries just to dye my eggs, but if I have some sitting around next year, will definitely do it again!

I hope that you and Matt had a happy Easter, by the way :)

Oh yeah! Happy Easter to you and your lady!

Thanks!

Ooh that's so cool! I love that color on! 😀

Thanks!

Yeah, I love the color as well, was pleasantly surprised with it myself haha

Happy Easter to you and your husband ! from Greece! :) have a great time !

Thank you @rouketas! Happy Easter to you as well! Do you guys celebrate it today or next Sunday?

Thanks :) Nope next Sunday !! can't wait for the meat feast !! heh

Yeah, it is on Sunday for my family back in Russia too, I wasn't sure if it was orthodox Easter in Greece as well haha

I really vividly remember painting eggs in my childhood which I loved doing always...the only thing what was nasty afterwards always was the taste of the eggs. Its not the same anymore. Maybe this natural variety of painting will not make such a gigantic difference??

I used blueberries to dye these eggs and they ended up not having any weird aftertaste, but they might slightly taste like something you used to dye them, I guess it depends on what you use.

Such a cool idea!!

It is indeed :D

I love the colors here! Very neat idea to paint with blueberries. We colored some eggs last night and my stomach turned a bit thinking if the color got into the eggs after reading the other comments! I'm going to double-check before any of us eat them!

I think you should be fine if you used natural dyes or any other food dyes on the market and followed the instructions on the package :).
Happy Easter!

It looks rather unusual. But experimenting is always interesting. I also didn't know about colouring by using these berries. These eggs are similar to the surface of marble. Thank you for originality :)

Thank you!

Definitely, I loved the way they turned out, so much prettier than using a regular dye, this shade of blue is my favorite :)

Woo the eggs looks very cool. Sadly Easter is not a thing in my country but I think I will still try to color the eggs after looking at these.

It isn't?! Where do you live if you don't mind me asking? (you don't have to tell if you don't want to!)

Hope you enjoy coloring your eggs with blueberries :)

I am from india. I suppose people do celebrate it here but it is not really known or a thing around the place I live.

Oh that is cool! A couple of my friends are actually in India right now, getting married!

I am sure you guys have holidays that are way more fun than coloring eggs haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93