Hummus And Pita Bread

in #food7 years ago

619A6843.jpg
619A6825.jpg

Who doesn't like hummus? I don't know anyone. It is delicious, nutty and makes a perfect dip for veggies, pita bread or some grilled meat. Or you can make some tasty sandwiches with it! Nice!
Even though I don't make it often, every time I try to add something new into it, so let's make it.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cooked chickpeas or canned ones;
  • a handful of cooked or canned fava beans;
  • salt and pepper to taste;
  • a tiny handful of walnuts;
  • 3 cloves of garlic;
  • 1/2 cup tahini;
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil;
  • juice of 1 lemon;
  • smoked paprika, ground cumin, ground coriander to taste.

Ingredients for garnish:

  • extra virgin olive oil;
  • chopped parsley;
  • smoked paprika or chili powder;
  • chopped fresh peppers or tomatoes;
  • flax seeds or sesame seeds;

Directions:

Place all of the ingredients into your food processor and process to a smooth consistency, add the bean liquid if you need to make it thinner or add more lemon juice.

619A6831.jpg

All done! Serve with pita bread, I got some whole wheat pita, it was actually pretty good. The reason why I didn't make my own pita is that I am honestly not that good at it. I tried once and it was decent, but I prefer getting pita bread from Arabic bakeries, I feel like those guys know what they are doing!

619A6826.jpg

Another good addition to your hummus would be fresh celery stalks, cucumbers, baby carrots, tomatoes and peppers. You can really get creative with it.

619A6838.jpg
619A6850.jpg


Sort:  

Yeah girl! This hummus looks off the charts - adding walnuts to it is something I've never tried but now you've given me the idea. I bought a 'hummus kit' online not long ago - it comes with enough dried chickpeas and seasonings to make 10 lbs of hummus! I guess I'm going to have to whip up a batch soon :) Have a great weekend!

Thank you :) the reason I added walnuts is that I have a bunch of them haha, I was like tahini works with it and gies it a nutty taste why won't I add some walnuts in it as well haha, it actually didn't make any difference, I guess a handful wasn't enough to really kick off the taste, I am not worried though. I don't think I will put fava beans in it next time though, I used them once to make falafel and it worked good, but I guess not for hummus. It is not even the taste, but the color that I didn't really like.

Im gonna go taste some right now. Lol

Turns out, that shit was pretty good. That was the second time trying Hummus, but definitely the best. Lol

Hell yeah boys!

It was only just a few months ago that I learned I like hummus!

Haha awesome! The first time I tried it was actually a few years ago when I came to the US haha, funny.

I don't like hummus too. I prefer Adjika for bread )))

Oh no! Hahaha

I have done hummus once before, that looks delicious, I am going to try it :)
Thanks for sharing!!

Oh great! I had no idea it existed until I came to the US, funny right haha now I make it home every once in a while!

I dont like hummus :P sorry, but its not my taste :/

Who cares what you like? :D

Very Delicious hummus ... All the ingredients are easy, healthy and simple... fantastic presentation.....easy to make this tasty hummus....

nazirkhyber_01.JPG

Thank you, it did turn out delicious!

I love that stuff too. Looks yummy and nice photography too.

какая-то адовая вкусняха) а я даже не знала о ней) вроде название слышала, а не знала. у нас такое разве едят?

Я видела продавалась в Киеве несколько лет назад, сейчас не знаю, но ты можешь сама сделать дома :)

nice recipe and tasty food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61204.65
ETH 2452.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58